We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great return visit!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Holm Oak Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
740derric...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great return visit!”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is our second visit and it did not disappoint. Good quality facilities and accommodation. Ideal for people with restricted mobility . We loved the peaceful setting and such a short distance to lackford lakes itself. Spotting a kingfisher on our first day of visiting the lakes was very satisfying. We would not hesitate to book again and would definitely recommend this accommodation.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
I'm glad you saw a kingfisher on your first day! HolmOak is a lovely barn to retreat to even in the winter time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryannea...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay, lovely place and great facilities.”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Very well set up and thoughtfully planned house. Particularly suitable for people with difficulty getting about as its all on one level. The en suite bathrooms are also very good. The nearby nature reserve is a great bonus.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Thank you, each bedroom has an en suite and one of them can be used by wheelchair users. I'm glad you enjoyed the nature reserve, it is all around us. I saw a green woodpecker in the courtyard garden today.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Holm Oak Barn for it's location close to family and we were very surprised at how lovely the accommodation was. Beautifully restored, cosy, clean and superbly appointed. Whether you decide to cook every day or have takeaways, the kitchen was extremely well equipped. Fragrant lavender right outside the front door, the walled gardens were well stocked and a pleasure to walk around. The barn felt like a home away from home. The immediate environment was peaceful, yet not too far away from shops. We are looking forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
I'm so glad that you enjoyed the gardens, they are getting quite established now and seem to have something of interest all year round.the underfloor heating and good insulation ensures that the barns are warm and cosy and our housekeeper Sue works really hard to keep everything clean and tidy. Best wishes, and please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjc273
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely property in beautiful surroundings which was excellent for elderly people to get around. Outside seating area could have been larger to assist aged people. Excellent service from the owner when we had a problem with the fridge. Would definitely recommend this property.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could help by replacing the fridge.
Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo A
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb in every way!”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We just returned from a fantastic break with our little girl. The accommodation was fantastic, location extremely pretty and relaxing - just exactly what we needed! The communal areas were immaculate and very family orientated. Would highly recommend this to anyone and we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable - liked everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2016
Thank you, so pleased to hear that you wish to return- always a sign of a good holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superbly appointed accomodation in beautiful tranquil setting”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked Holm Oak and Cartlodge Cottages for a reunion weekend of 9 ladies.Both cottages were spacious, tastefully furnished, had everything we needed.Plenty of bathrooms as virtually everyone had an ensuite.We cannot fault in any way.Masses of hot water, tea coffee cake AND flowers on our arrival.
The location next to the wildlife reserve is peaceful and cottages have views over fields and adjacent barns, across an attractive and well designed courtyard.
We particularly loved the peacock who seemed to enjoy our company too !
In summary,BRILLIANT.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The high quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Thank you so much, I popped over to see you while you were all out to check if everything was OK for you. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves and had a comfortable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it and pleased that you enjoyed the comfortable bed, welcome pack and walks around the nature reserve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing