We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent curry house in BSE!”

Voujon Indian Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A decent curry house in BSE!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Since this place opened a few weeks ago I've had a couple of take-aways and have been very pleasantly surprised.

The friendly guvnor and his well turned out staff serve up reasonably priced Indian grub at very reasonable prices.

The decor is very contemporary but still somehow has the feel of a 'traditional curry house'.

I have a feeling I will be a regular visitor to the Voujon over the coming months.........

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank steveholdenmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    94
    21
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must try!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This is an elegant and a classic looking restaurant, the decor and the ambiance is perfect for any occasion. It is also chilled out and very relaxing.
Service: great and friendly
Menu: simple and mouth watering dishes
Price: reasonable portions are great and they don't compromise on quality

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Since opening I have had two takeaways from here and they have both been really nice, very well priced and the staff and owner are really friendly. I had a pint of Kingfisher whilst waiting for my food both times and this was a good pint. Give this place a try - I don't think you will be dissapointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Burygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New name in town”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to see what the replacement for Shapla was like on Friday 21st with friends who are also keen curry connoisseurs. My Son had previously had a take-away recently which he was very complimentary about, so worth a look! Food was excellent, freshly prepared and well spiced without being standardised like so many others. Certainly will go again and so said my friends! Not expensive either. Good staff too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank merlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bury's best Indian restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Newly opened Voujon (on the site of the old Shapla restaurant in Mustow Street) is an example of how to do Indian cuisine right. The food was excellent, the service great, the prices good, the decor smart. This is now my go-to place for a curry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank walrusface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voujon Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Voujon Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing