We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hamilton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamilton House
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Wonderful welcome with a pot of tea and home-made walnut cake when we were feeling so tired. Room was comfortable and warm. Breakfast fantastic, especially the delicious strawberries and blueberries. The owner Terry is a lovely person.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Hamilton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions.The location is excellent - close to the center of town and the bus station, and only about a mile from the railway station. Rooms are decently equipped and very clean, breakfasts are very good, prices are reasonable and the overall value is excellent. The owner Terry is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. There is a real 'family' atmosphere that includes a very friendly dog called Phoebe. We always enjoy our stays at Hamilton House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flagman966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

From the initial phone call to leaving Hamilton House the hostess went out of her way to help on what was supposed to be her day off! Very friendly welcome without being overbearing - I agree with the other reviews below. If you want a cheap and stress-free place to stay within short walking distance from Bury St Edmunds train station and town centre then this is recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I've been there twice already and will go again. Would recommend it to everyone who doesn't require fancy hotels. The hostess is great and very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Terry is the friendliest hostess you could want. The rooms are clean and welcoming, the breakfast (especially the fruit salad) excellent, and the location of this B&B is minutes from the centre of Bury St Edmunds. Why bother with anywhere else?

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DizDiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Thank you so much, Terry, for making my long stay with you at the Hamilton House such a pleasant experience!

I was working in Bury St Edmunds for several months and booked into the Hamilton House after having spent my first week in another hotel that wasn't as nice. Hamilton House is a really friendly place, extremely clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast is always delicious and set me up well for the day. Plus it was great to be made to feel so welcome when working away from home in a city where at first I didn't know anyone.

I would never stay anywhere else in BSE except for Hamilton House - it really is that good there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazycaterpillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

From the moment the door opened we were put at our ease thanks to the warm welcome, the family just couldn't be nicer or easier going. The rooms were impecably clean and extremely comfortable and the breakfast was of the finest quality.

We wish the family all the best and hope I have occasion to visit Bury again whereupon I shall undoubtedly return to Hamilton House

Bravo

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds
The Black Boy, Bury St Edmunds
#42 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
83 Whiting Street Bed & Breakfas...
#32 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton House

Address: 4 Nelson Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hamilton House Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing