We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True to the Best Western credo "A hotel with personality"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Located about a mile+, from the city centre. Great service. Restaurant exceptionally good. Free parking on site.
The rooms are scattered on the site. Some in the main block, others in small separate blocks. We'll maintained, through the fabric is aging.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senior_traveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 517 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

The stay was welcoming and the service was good with fast reception area operation. There seems to be a little disorganisation when the fire alarm falsely went off, a little worrying - no sign of a visible fire warden - hopefully the hotel will sort this out after a survey report. No hot water in the morning - strange !!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night for business and was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The gardens are beautiful, especially in the sunshine and the whole setting gives off a quite serene atmosphere in comparison to the network outside the hotel.

The rooms are like terraced chalets all in a little horseshoe which is very odd but quite nice. The rooms are spacious and clean but in some need of updating and more secure locks... Call me modern but a chain lock and no double bolting locks don't give me much hope.

I ordered room service, and the food was very nice, albeit hotel prices! £11 for scampi and chips and an extra £5 for it to be delivered 10 yards from kitchen to room. No sauces offered and a salt pot that was empty!!! No biggy but it's the little things you miss when you're away. Beds were comfy and warm. Shower could do with modernising or at least descaling.

Breakfast is an informal and small affair but as I was rushing off in the morning, I didn't taste their hot food. The ladies were very attentive however and made us all feel welcome.

Needless to say, if I'm ever passing through Bury again, I would come to this hotel again for business. For personal use... I'm not sure I would come here immediately.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaela357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank sharond539
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight Saturday 3rd May-Sunday 4th May 2014 as we were competing in an archery competition in Elvedon Forest nearby. The hotel is of the traditional type but set in its own very pleasant grounds behind high walls. The room was very clean comfortable and well furnished but a little tired looking,and the en suite bathroom could really do with a refurb.However the position of the room was really beautiful looking out onto the garden.So it was quite acceptable for one night. The staff were efficient and pleasant especially at reception and we were made to feel welcome. The only down side to the stay was the restaurant.We expected far better food at dinner than was served. A massive disappointment !There appeared to be no in house chef as the food we ordered was no better than reheated or frozen dishes .Even Kentucky Fried Chicken could have done better and it was expensive and there was not enough of it..The waiting staff were slow and whole experience was poor. We would stay there again but dine out !

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is the second time at this hotel, this time for work.

Its perfect location, clean rooms and nice staff make this a lovely place. Stayed in the courtyard rooms this time, nice and quiet, clean and modern.

Room service food was nice, just ashamed they can't vary from the menu wham all you want is a chicken salad.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Carmen T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
1.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
499 reviews
1.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#10 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
432 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
225 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Priory Hotel

Address: Mildenhall Rd, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range: $62 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main route into Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, this 36 room hotel is hidden behind its Grade 2 listed walls, a stones throw from the city centre. We have a good reputation as a quality venue within East Anglia and our location makes us the ideal base for weekend breaks in the area. We are well served by the A14, two junctions (42 and 43) are just five minutes drive away, and together with our free parking for over 50 cars, we welcome both residential and non-residential guests for midweek stopovers, conferences and meetings. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff endeavour to look after your every need. Our commitment to a high attention to detail is key to your comfort and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury St Edmunds
Best Western Priory Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing