We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit more room please!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at the Priory for one night at the end of January this year, for a conference.
My first impressions were not that favourable as I arrived after sundown, signage to the car park was not visible and when I did find the car park it rather resembled the Somme, crater sized pot holes and very muddy (admittedly it had rained incessantly for days before) but not good dragging an heavy suitcase through the mud to the reception.
I had one of the courtyard rooms, rather put me in mind of an American Motel, everything worked and was clean and tidy and as you would expect from a three star hotel even if the bathroom was starting to show its age a bit.
The bar area was comfortable and the bar staff cheerful.
We were not a large party for dinner, just over a dozen, but it did seem that they were not fully geared up for larger parties. We dined in the very pleasant conservatory at a table that should probably have seated 4 less in number than we were, lucky we all knew each other, because it was very cozy. There was also some misunderstanding over the menu - they offered us a restricted version - which got sorted out though and the meal itself was very good.
Breakfast the following morning was the same arrangement in the conservatory, once again rather cozy. With an absence of staff breakfast took rather longer than it should have done.
My eggs Benedict were cooked the way I like them, so full marks for the breaky itself
Overall a nice hotel with some character in the main building, probably good for a short stay and exploring the area and not breaking the bank for a night or two.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_smallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Priory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 495 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was the first time that we had visited the hotel--we went there to meet up with some old friends who had stayed there several times and we were so impressed with everything. Nothing was too much bother for the lovely staff and the food was excellent. We had a room in the Courtyard which was very comfortable and spacious. The mattress and pillows were a tad firm for us but this wouldn't stop us from making another visit in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have used the Priory Hotel on several past occasions normally for medium to large groups of family and friends. Went last Saturday, 8 Feb and was slightly disappointed. The staff have lost their edge. Whilst polite, just doing what they need to with no offers of any extras. Waiter only managed to get 5 desert orders so I had to go get him to take the rest. However, as always the food was excellant, the wine was great, it is just the service that needs bringing back to where it used to be. This is a wonderful place to spend an evening.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

During a two night stay on business, I was put into a premier room which was more expensive than a standard. The room was nice and bathroom huge, however the water pressure for the shower was pathetic and reception simply said 'they would get someone to look at it' Breakfast service was also poor having to wait nearly half an hour for a member of staff to appear to take orders.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

At the beginning of January we booked 16th August for a car club event, went to the Hotel meet with the lady whom the booking was made through, had some lunch, viewed some rooms and confirmed the arrangement for our block booking of 30 rooms and a Dinner for 60 Guests.

Received an email from the aforementioned lady on the 7th of February informing me that they had cancelled our booking in favour of another "regular" group.

Quite unbelievable !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Goosedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Modest hotel with friendly staff. A little way out of town but its walkable. The hotel was an old large house which has been added to, and extended, I guess 30 yrs ago. It also has a small conservatory.

Room Tip: They seem all to be "garden rooms" Like a motel?
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topdog32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've got nothing negative to say :)

Walking distance form the train station, 0.5 mile.
Very friendly and helpful staff (and they checked us in 4 hours earlier, so that we didn't have to wait)
Spacious and clean rooms and bathrooms.
Toiletries, kettle in the room.
All other possibly needed things available from the reception.

Very pretty garden.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szczurzynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
1.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
418 reviews
1.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
213 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Priory Hotel

Address: Mildenhall Rd, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range: $80 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main route into Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, this 36 room hotel is hidden behind its Grade 2 listed walls, a stones throw from the city centre. We have a good reputation as a quality venue within East Anglia and our location makes us the ideal base for weekend breaks in the area. We are well served by the A14, two junctions (42 and 43) are just five minutes drive away, and together with our free parking for over 50 cars, we welcome both residential and non-residential guests for midweek stopovers, conferences and meetings. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff endeavour to look after your every need. Our commitment to a high attention to detail is key to your comfort and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury St Edmunds
Best Western Priory Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing