We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good palce to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Pune
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good palce to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Drove in for a one night stay. had a good garden facing room. Loved the quiet, the rooms was clean and the trouser press and hairdryer were a boon ! Lovely walk to town centre and found the staff very helpful and firendly. Had dinner and breakfast- nice. would be happy to stay here again. Lovely quiet town and a good place to relax .

Room Tip: Liked the garden facing rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    152
    88
    52
    14
See reviews for
90
164
28
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed for the weekend, on our 4th wedding anniversary. We had our reception there. Great l location, friendly staff and great food. Perhaps not the smartest place but well worth a visit all round

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed there with my wife on 30/09/2012. Picked it because they have WIFI, That was a laugh, What Fi more like it. it's best speed that night was 250k download speed, I could have sent a pigeon faster. Unusable! Don't rely on it.

So we both decided to have room service and relax with something simple, cheese on toast, mmmm. YEUCK! I don't know where their cook comes from, but what he thinks he cooked was not cheese on toast.

The room was pleasant & comfortable. The bathroom was not! There was mildew on the tiles and it looked grubby. Felt dirtier coming out.

Breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about.

It seems the UK version is no better than the USA one. No not true. No cockroaches over here.

Well I will never try Best Western again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights, hotel well situated just a short walk into Bury town centre. We were allocated a garden room. ( Two blocks of ground floor rooms opposite each other with courtyard)
Room was spacious and clean however bathroom lacked care and attention in some areas ie chipped bath surround. The biggest fault was the lack of sound proofing with adjoining rooms. We had an end room so only had one adjoining wall but it became obvious that just normal talking and moving about was easily transmitted through the wall.
Breakfast was good & staff helpful & polite. Would visit again but avoid garden room at all cost !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Needed a hotel to stay as we were going to a wedding. Booked for two nights with breakfast.

Double Room was located outside the main hotel overlooking gardens. It was of a good standard, clean and well equipped. Good sized hard, but comfortable bed, TV, Kettle and assorted hot drinks, hair drier and trouser press. Seperate bathroom with bath/shower.

Breakfast was good quality with a choice of English or Continental.

Polite and professional staff

No complaints, great hotel for short breaks or business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbird1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel was in nice grounds, we had a good breakfast: the room was spacious and clean and fine.....but the beds were very hard. And we enjoy a firm mattress normally. We found that our 3 nights seemed very long! The position was good for our needs,and the room was quiet even with the window open. Probably we would not stay again though with the super firm beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent five nights at the Priory. The twin rooms, though small, were clean and comfortable with spotless bathrooms. The food was excellent: interesting, delicious, and gracefully served. I was most impressed with the hard work and friendly manner of all of those on the staff who helped us, from Ray (who was duty manager, bar tender, and meal server as the need presented itself) to Sarah and Tracy and all those whose names I don't remember. The sitting area in the lounge and the dining room are in need of a makeover, but the food and service easily made up for that. For those who needed a bit of exercise, the walk into the center of town was do-able. The grounds of the hotel were pleasantly landscaped. The WiFi was quick and painless to access.

Room Tip: Some of the queen-bed rooms had bay windows--two looking into a small area with trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
1.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
18.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
Address: Mildenhall Rd, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main route into Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, this 36 room hotel is hidden behind its Grade 2 listed walls, a stones throw from the city centre. We have a good reputation as a quality venue within East Anglia and our location makes us the ideal base for weekend breaks in the area. We are well served by the A14, two junctions (42 and 43) are just five minutes drive away, and together with our free parking for over 50 cars, we welcome both residential and non-residential guests for midweek stopovers, conferences and meetings. We pride ourselves in our customer service and staff endeavour to look after your every need. Our commitment to a high attention to detail is key to your comfort and well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bury St Edmunds
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing