We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss WSH”
Review of West Stow Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Stow Hall
Uckfield,England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do not miss WSH”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful find thanks to TA . Stayed the one night in the chalet looking over to the 16th century hall . Very well appointed with kitchen/sitting room , bedroom and bathroom . Outside table a chairs , plus subtle wind chimes . Well worth walking around the garden and woodland walk with Monty ( well behaved collie/setter cross ) . Adjoining property is a stud farm with plenty of mares and foals to look at . Eileen a very friendly and welcoming host, and if offered the smoked salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast accept . 5 star brek with terrific fresh ground coffee .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bench2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
72
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

So many appreciative and positive adjectives have been used in past reviews, anything I write would simply be repetitive. It really is a unique and magical place. Eileen is the most wonderful, warm and friendly host. Her breakfasts are superb. The accommodation is everything you need, and more beside. Read the other reviews and book it as soon as you can (or when there is an available slot).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter-Selby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay here was far lovelier than we could have expected, and we were treated with warmth and grace by our hosts. The hall is just beautiful, steeped in atmosphere, full of curiosities, surrounded by picturesque grounds and decorated beautifully throughout. Our rooms were perfect in every detail- the little decanters of sherry were a particularly nice touch! Tea, coffee, cake, chocolates and hot water bottles were also generously provided without request. Breakfast was wonderful, with just about everything we could have wanted, and perfectly cooked full English. The owners could charge so much more for this place- it's an absolute bargain. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlinaArka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a fabulous experience. From the moment we arrived, greeted by Monty, we felt as if we were valued guests. Eileen couldn't have done more to make our stay special and the house tour the icing on the cake. Eileen put on supper for us (2 couples) and the 3 other guests staying that night. Plenty of laughter and sharing of "traveller tales"!. Such an amazing place and a treasured memory for us to take back home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I concur with all of the great reviews here - West Stow Hall is absolutely fabulous! We stayed 2 nights and our hostess, Eileen, could not have been more gracious! And what a terrific breakfast spread she puts on! Our room was a suite, really, with a sitting area and a good sized bathroom and a comfortable, large bed. The grounds are lovely; and yes, Monty the dog will be delighted to show you around. The house is a marvelous heritage building dating back hundreds of years. Be sure to have Eileen give you the official tour!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydocBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

There's little more I can add to the superb reviews below except to say ditto. We were in the studio, which my sister immediately dubbed the 'potting shed'. We were there three nights and it was very live-able and comfortable. Nice to have the living/dining/kitchenette room. And yes Monty is a gorgeous dog!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointyhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me and my husband had a great weekend away at West Stow Hall last weekend. Eileen is a very attentive host, nothing was too much trouble. The property itself is amazing, Eileen gave us a tour of the hall and a very friendly dog Monty took us around the gardens. We would recommend West Stow Hall to anyone wanting to enjoy a bit of Suffolk countryside, couples or families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarkaadegboye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
486 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,182 reviews
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
210 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
627 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Stow Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Stow Hall

Property: West Stow Hall
Address: West Stow Hall Icklingham Road | West Stow, Bury St. Edmunds IP28 6EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Hotel Class:5 star — West Stow Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Stow Hall is an historic 16th century privately run 5* bed and breakfast with 2 en-suite bedrooms and a family suite.Set within the grounds of the Hall the self contained Garden Studio is the perfect hideaway. King size bed and log burner - sleeps 2.The delightful Gardeners Cottage in its private walled garden is pet friendly, sleeps 6 and has recently been refurbished. Country kitchen, log burner, 3 bedrooms, pretty setting.Situated in the heart of Suffolk, close to Bury St Edmunds, with 6 acres of tranquil woods, streams and gardens West Stow Hall is a perfect place for relaxing after exploring the lovely towns and villages of Suffolk and Norfolk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Stow Hall Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing