We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”
Review of West Stow Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Stow Hall
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here one Saturday night as friends were getting married nearby. I found this place via tripadvisor and once again you triumphed!

The house is incredible, it's like staying in a stately home but without all the pomp and circumstance. Our room was beautiful, very comfy bed and very clean throughout. On the Sunday morning, after a delicious - really delicious - breakfast, we had a guided tour of the house which was absolutely fascinating. Eileen is a wonderful lady, very generous of spirit and a brilliant cook.

So generous, in fact, that when I left my glasses behind (they had slipped underneath the wardrobe) she posted them back to me first class, which cost over £6. I honestly feel as if I have made a new friend, and we are currently trying to find a good excuse to get back there as soon as possible...

I recommend West Stow Hall to anyone who wants a truly British experience. They don't come any better than this.

Room Tip: I suspect they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubblebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Friendly, beautiful, relaxed what more can I say 10 out of 10 a great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borogirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My partner & I stayed at West Stow Hall this weekend as I'd booked an all day racing tour at nearby Newmarket for him as a birthday treat(a great day out).
What a find! Eileen & Andy are extremely hospitable and welcomed us into their home as though visiting friends and not paying guests. The room was delightful with a lovely bathroom, good shower & super comfy bed. Homely touches such as fresh milk for our tea tray and the scrummy cake on arrival made it that bit more special. Breakfast is a feast with delicious local produce and very fresh fruit salad & croissants as well as numerous other naughty breakfast pastries.
Elieen in particular cannot do enough for her guests and is knowledgeable and passionate about the house; a fascinating Grade I listed hall, with Tudor gatehouse and exceptional wall painting revealed in a tour of the house. It was lovely to see these 'behind the scenes' parts of the house which one would not normally be given access to as a B&B guest.
Together with beautiful gardens in a peaceful location West Stow Hall is a gem of a place to spend time; we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flump71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

What a joy to stay at West Stow! We did have some difficulty actually finding it [directions are great, but the sign is small - if you find the West Stow Stud, it's the same driveway.] Eileen and Andy were having a busy day with a family graduation when we arrived, and we were looked after very well by Sacha, who regaled us with a huge pot of tea and scrummy chocolate cake.
The rooms are huge, and very well appointed - though a very old house, all modern conveniences are there for guests, and good quality ones at that. We had a room in the main house, with a bathroom that would fit our own bedroom at home into a corner. Excellent power shower, bath to luxuriate in, and quality toiletries.
Eileen and Andy couldn't have been more helpful - suggested a good eating house, and gave us a tour of the property before we left on the Sunday morning. Well cooked tasty breakfast from local quality ingredients, proper milk for our tea tray, and wine to help the evening along.
Such a peaceful little village, with loads of things to see and do nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hadenmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just loved our stay here for two nights over summer half-term. The house itself is too cool and Eileen and the family could not have been more welcoming. The breakfast was amazing (particularly the sausages and fruit salad) and we had a great conversation with our fellow guests on the first morning (just us on the second!). The grounds were beautiful with some lovely flowers in bloom. Our room on bth evenings was fab with comfy beds and plenty of space. We ate a picnic dinner outside on our second night and it was wonderful. I really hope that we get to return one day. Lavenham was a super day trip and we also rode our bikes around Ickworth (cellar tours are really interesting!)

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank sneakers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This has to be one of the most memorable places I have ever stayed. Only regret is that we didnt book for one more night. Eileen and Andy and family are warm and welcoming hosts. Stow Hall itself is an incredible place full of history. All the rooms are beautiful and the food is wonderful. It is a great combination of passion for what they do, attention to detail, and everything done with such heart and generosity that you genuinely couldn't fauIt it in any way.
Definitely all of us would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AveBai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This review is long overdue..........

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely Bed & Breakfast, which was in an Idyllic setting. Beautiful old house that was heaped in history, Eileen did a wonderful job of telling us all about it. Eileen was the most fantastic host and makes you feel at ease as soon as you arrive.

Our bedroom was lovely and came fully equipped with a TV/DVD player as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was really comfortable with lovely bedding and glorious views out to the countryside.

The breakfast was delicious and having little sweets and biscuits provided in the room was a nice touch. Breakfast consisted of full English, toast & cereals.

All in all, I would highly recommend this B&B for a lovely relaxing stay, don’t hesitate, book now!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidneyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
4.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,262 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
533 reviews
5 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
297 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#3 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
199 reviews
10.1 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Stow Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Stow Hall

Address: West Stow Hall Icklingham Road | West Stow, Bury St. Edmunds IP28 6EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Hotel Class:5 star — West Stow Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Stow Hall is an historic 16th century privately run 5* bed and breakfast with 2 en-suite bedrooms and a family suite.Set within the grounds of the Hall the self contained Garden Studio is the perfect hideaway. King size bed and log burner - sleeps 2.The delightful Gardeners Cottage in its private walled garden is pet friendly, sleeps 6 and has recently been refurbished. Country kitchen, log burner, 3 bedrooms, pretty setting.Situated in the heart of Suffolk, close to Bury St Edmunds, with 6 acres of tranquil woods, streams and gardens West Stow Hall is a perfect place for relaxing after exploring the lovely towns and villages of Suffolk and Norfolk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Stow Hall Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing