We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for one night for my husbands birthday on one of the Sunday night special deals. Had stayed before but in the Mews as it was easier when we have the dog with us, had Deans room this time which overlooks the front lawn. Good room, lovely warm bathroom with nice toiletries. Very good meal and well served, all the staff are nice and helpful, our case was taken to the room for us. Sunday night can be difficult as they get supplies on a monday and had run out of two things we wanted, one being the wine but the young waiter gave a good recommendation and we were served with an excellent wine. Only one night but it felt like a longer break, can't wait to go back again. We like the fact it is dog friendly.

Room Tip: The Mews is best if taking your dog. Its a quiet area so no problem with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyk299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    149
    64
    35
    24
See reviews for
85
361
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We finally got away for a long weekend! This was a real treat for us, so we secured the Saxon room - which is also called the Honeymoon Suite. Great four poster - but be warned, it is high!!

Very easy to find, just off the A14 south of Bury St. Edmunds and well sign-posted. Tis is a very traditional, upmarket country house hotel. Set in a bit more than 7 acres of land, the long, winding driveway snakes through tall trees and wild rhododendrons. Lots of rabbits and squirrels and we we lucky that the snowdrops were in full bloom - a real carpet of white both sides of the driveway.

The building itself doesn't disappoint. This is a cared for Tudor home, with a real feel of history about it.

Lounge and bar areas are attractive, almost "shabby chic", but with some very high quality furniture, lots of rich mahogany and oak. The central fireplace is huge and was roaring away on Friday evening. Really good feel to the ground floor.

Restaurant - modern English with high quality ingredients. We ate dinner on three consecutive nights and tried quote a range from the menus. There is a Classic Menu - 2 or three courses set prices, or the a la carte, with a wide range of dishes to choose from. We ate a good selection between us - Roast Rib of Beef (for 2 people), sirloin steak, gnocchi, roast pork, cod, beetroot cured salmon, home smoked haddock - we discovered the hotel has its own smokery. Very subtle flavours in the meats and the fishes.

Staff - brilliant. Probably the best team we have encountered in years. They all deserve real praise for their hard work and professionalism. If we had to single out anyone, it would have to be Antonio, the head waiter, and Julia the local lady who looks after breakfast service. But everyone, including the owner, Craig, and his wife were charming throughout our stay. A pleasure to stay - and now we've found it, we'll be going back.

Room Tip: The main house rooms all appeared excellent - and the adjoining building with exterior spiral stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcliff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel looks lovely as you drive up to it. Unfortunately there are some basic problems that need sorting out. Firstly, there is a ramp down to the entrance, which may make it accessible to wheelchairs, but made me feel off balance and unsafe. There is only a handrail on one side of the rather steep staircase, which meant I couldn't get to my allocated room (Deans) as I have had a stroke and am now disabled, although i can climb stairs as long as i have something to hold on to. We were given Mews 4 instead, which is small and rather dark. Also, there are no grab rails in the bathroom and the bath is quite low, so unusable. The decor is dated, as it is throughout the hotel. The fires smoke really badly meaning that you are breathing in a fog and the dining room is clearly dirty and sooty. The food was good, but not excellent. We used our toiletries on the Friday we arrived and they were not replaced during our stay. There is not a pen or paper in the room and only one chair so if you do want to sit down one of you will be sitting on the bed. The Mews have really thin walls, i was kept awake for hours by the lady in he next room coughing and you can clearly hear your neighbours use the bathroom. Really the hotel needs to close for two weeks for deep cleaning,redecorating and chimney sweeping. The best thing about this hotel is the location, it is close to lots of lovely towns, however it is overpriced and under equipped.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggiethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for valentines. I'll start on a positive note; food was outstanding and we really enjoyed our evening. Really friendly waitering staff, who made us feel relaxed and welcome. However the room we stayed in, was not very clean and had the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, hence not a lot of sleep!! We did not complain on our departure but wish I had mentioned about the cleanness of the room as this disappointed me, but not enough to spoil our valentines day

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for one night in November on a business trip. The hotel is set in large country grounds with very picturesque settings. The main hotel has a lovely old fashioned country feel to it with great lounge areas, open fires, etc. We stayed in one of the Annex rooms which feel more like a summer house. The doors to the room were old wooden summer house style which lead directly into the room. This didn't feel very secure as the doors were quite flimsy in their design. It was only that we were well off the road made up for it a little bit. The room was very old fashioned and to a specific taste, however clean and relatively comfortable. The room did get quite cold in the evening as the doors were quite drafty. Breakfast was fantastic with excellent service. Staff were very helpful and the quality of the food great. I would recommend staying in the main hotel which is probably a much more comfortable experience. Overall the place is great but just avoid the annex rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Out-and-about-Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We found this on secretescapes and what a delight it was. A six course taster menu, afternoon tea and champagne and breakfast all included in the price. Our room was lovely and after our amazing dinner, we sat outside on the swinging chair under the stars.. What a lovely valentine treat for us both and a very lovely venue. They said it was a 3 star hotel, but the service and attention by everyone felt like 4 star to me.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mordy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just returned from meeting friends for lunch. 2 for 1 menu was chosen, interesting mix of dishes. My Hake main was superb, 2 of my friends had Suffolk Pork which showed great skill but served with no potato?
Its certainly not cheap but as a deal not to bad. BUT please paper napkins any price, NO NO.

Shall return in warmer weather to enjoy the gardens.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186342Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
8.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.8 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Property: Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing