We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding was made fantastic”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wedding was made fantastic”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We decided to hold our wedding at this hotel and we were not disappointed in our choice. The venue was beautiful and set in the pretty town of bury st edmunds we felt it was a good choice. The food served at every meal was amazingly prepared , delicious and served promptly. Our wedding suite was just divine and very luxurious. We were just sad to leave the next day! If you get a chance to visit this fantastic hotel do because you won't regret it . Thankyou angel hotel for making us feel like royalty :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    393
    180
    71
    47
See reviews for
128
591
45
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel is a delightful historic building, within a few minutes from the town's cathedral and main shopping area. The views of the cathedral and the cathedral gates from the front of the hotel are amazing and the staff are highly trained and incredibly professional. Despite being in a period building, the rooms and their furnishings are modern, clean and well-equipped with all that a traveller needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Character hotel in a great position in town virtually opposite Cathedral. Strange mix between old and new styles but bedroom at front large and full of character. Room prices high but better value when using one of the deals eg Sunday Night.
We were unlucky at breakfast as both sent back as obviously reheated - hard fried egg and cardboard bacon Assume chef was away as dinner the previous night was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at front larger I guess and great view. Some noisy building work/pump? woke us very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J2143X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

My apologies for the poor breakfast, all our breakfasts are cooked to order. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests in order that we may endeavour to improve the service and comfort we offer.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A Spur of the moment thing to have lunch at the Angel. We both agreed it was a most enjoyable experience. The service was excellent, the staff all very friendly, well dressed and efficient. The quality of food was very tasty and nicely presented. The tables in the restaurant were spaced out well, we didn't feel cramped or over looked.
All in all a lovely experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed one night in the Angel and it was a very pleasant experience, perfectly located in the centre of Bury St Edmunds we parked in the hotel car park and were assisted the by very (very!) helpful pleasant Rick.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and our room the Graham Greene Suite was really nice. Amazingly for a UK hotel the A/C worked really well so a humid night outside was completely and quickly forgotten Other UK hotels please note you CAN have working A/C in the UK it is not impossible!! Breakfast was delicious and quickly served we were sorry to leave after just 1 night

Room Tip: If you can choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I recently enjoyed an excellent evening stay in The Angel. We had a lovely modern Originals room, it was a quiet room, nicely appointed and furnished. We had a comfortable nights sleep and it was a plenty spacious enough room, considering its an old building. We initially had problems with a previous stay at the hotel, but the staff were excellent in rectifying things second time around and we were very well cared for. I would suggest in our experience pay for a better room, if the appointments of the room are important to you. It is not the cheapest hotel but Bury St Edmunds is a unique town and this is bar far the best located within the town and really the only hotel of this quality (live locally, so know the options!). The bar in the vaults is totally unique and always worth a visit and the food and customer service is always good.

Room Tip: Originals upwards. Had a coach house room previously and the difference was noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We went for a late lunch on Thursday afternoon to celebrate my husband's birthday. The lunch menu is served all afternoon which was really handy for us. The three course set menu was very reasonably priced. I had bruschetta to start which was good apart from the green beans which were too chewy. I don't eat meat so I had white bean salad for main which was a huge portion and beautifully flavoured. For dessert I had a creme brulee served with shortbread. I enjoyed this though the consistency could have been thicker. There was a good range of wines to choose from.
The service was quick and efficient. The dining room decor is quirky and fun and we had a good table by the window. I enjoyed the meal very much though I think the chef could move up a gear to be truly excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sending us your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear positive feedback to pass on to my team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Angel, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
203 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
203 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing