We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night Break”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a three night break at The Angel, the room was large and comfortable, the staff were most obliging and helpful.

However, the problem for us were the breakfasts which were on the whole, poor, uncooked porridge oats, no apple juice available on our second morning and black pudding on one day as hard as concrete, toast blackened and unappetising.

IT is unlikely that we would return for another stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked here for our Anniversary and chose The Ivy Suite for something a bit special, the website made it all look amazing, a really special room. Staff on arrival were very welcoming and friendly, we had a porter who parked our car for us and showed to our room. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement, firstly we booked a 'suite' so we expected more then one room, no, we had a bedroom and bathroom, and a small one at that. The room was no bigger then a Premier inn, and certainly lacked the 'wow' factor. We went back to reception and told them we were not happy, we were offered an upgrade for £50, we had already paid a lot of money so were not willing to pay anymore. The receptionist said she could show us another Ivy Room, we were slightly more impressed, at least it was a 'suite' far bigger, still nothing special but an improvement. We chose not to eat at The Angel as family had stayed the week before at its sister hotel in Ipswich and were very disappointed with their dinner. (We ate at The Zen Noodle bar which was fabulous). We had breakfast in our room the next morning which was nice enough. Great location, friendly staff but overpriced for what you get. If we had to stay again would just book a basic room, probably better value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night (I have been a few times for lunch which has been consistently good every time). From the out set the staff were polite, welcoming and efficient. Parking was not an issue in fact 5 star service. We drove in to the arch way of the hotel, the porter brought our bags in and parked the car for us.
The food is sublime. We ate from the set menu, which had a good choice of fish and meat dishes. The creme brûlée I had for dessert was the best I've ever had, my daughter had the chocolate fondant and cannot wait to have it again!!
Hotel is very well located, close to the shops, and across the road from Abbey gardens and the cathedral.
We will definitely come back. Fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJG_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at the Angel with my wife for one night an a £140 dinner, bed and breakfast deal. At this price we thought it represented good value for money and were impressed with the building, its spot in town and the excellent service. On booking we knew that there was only one room available for the night in the coach house part of the hotel. The room itself was clean and well presented but nothing special and probably in need of updating in the not too distant future (it's definitely at the lower end of the rooms on offer but we booked this knowingly). The porter service was excellent as was reception and waitress service in the restaurant. We were however underwhelmed by the evening meal. The neck of lamb was very tough and served with offal not specified on he menu and we felt that in a few cases the drizzles of sauces accompanying dishes would have benefitted from being more liberal. If we had been paying the menu prices I would have been very disappointed (neck of lamb £18, cheese and biscuits £9), but bearing in mind the deal we had we still enjoyed the evening (lovely atmosphere, great service) and saw no need to complain at the time. We had a great nights sleep and managed a delicious Suffolk breakfast cooked to order in the morning. We would definitely stay again, but would look out for a similar deal and probably wouldn't rush back to the restaurant unless we had a similar package.

Room Tip: The hotel website describes and pictures the rooms on offer very well. definitely worth a look befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpianBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have just returned from a week staying at The Angel. The hotel is beautiful and in the most fantastic location. There was a group of us staying and it was clear that there are a wide range of rooms, some more luxurious than others! However, our room was airy, clean and spacious and we found it to be most comfortable. The decor is somewhat quirky and might not be to everyone's taste but it certainly adds to the unique 'vibe' of The Angel. The staff were polite and helpful. Restaurant service was a little slow but that might be owing to the fact that we were in a large group. All in all, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emh278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A great hotel overall. It has a great location between the Abbey & its gardens and the shopping & dining area of Bury. My room was comfortable, clean, and seemed roomy after coming from London. The staff was friendly and helpful. I agree with other reveiwers that the layout is a bit of a maze. The breaksfast service was great and I enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atltiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Terrific hotel, modern refurbishment in a very traditional building that works. Interesting decor with plentiful supply of regional contemporary artworks to gaze upon; good menu, pleasant staff; excellent central location. An afternoon well spent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
506 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
226 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range: $132 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing