We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Romantic suite, whilst the most expensive room in the hotel it was certainly worth the money. The hotel room was beautiful whilst it was my taste the furnishings certainly have a female twist to them. The service in the hotel was fantastic, service with a smile and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast we had in the room, on time and hot! No complaints there! Only slight complaint is at check out time there was only one person on the desk checking people out and in the 30 degree heat the hotel was roasting!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8-HappyTraveller-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    383
    172
    70
    46
See reviews for
123
572
44
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Unlikely as it may seem, this wonderful and fun hotel in the centre of Bury St Edmunds is just the place for a relaxing and fun weekend break. This historic and slightly eclectic hotel has good rooms, hidden bars and excellent food + great service. But just lose those noisy metal heels, boys, in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKSSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

2 overnights for business in Bury st Edmunds. Angel hotel is only real hotel in town. Well located to go out and about on foot.
Century old building, small corridors, awkwardly sized rooms, squeaky floorboards, thick carpets and interesting furniture. But: aircon, good service, a clean a bathroom in modern style. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtenbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in July 2013 and the staff there were brilliant. Very helpful and very friendly. The hotel itself is very nice and perfectly central in Bury-St-Edmunds. Great place to stay. Would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG_liverbird1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The good points are that the hotel is set in a stunning location and its exterior is both fantastic unique, it also has the most fabulous downstairs bar I have seen for many a year too very quirky and a great design. I happened to stay on the ground floor backing on to the carpark so the view was not much, but it wasn't that, that bothered me it was the noise, deliveries as early at 5:45 am, I was on business so I was up early but I din't need to get up that early. I must admit I prefer a buffet style breakfast where I can help myself, here you have to order everything and could be waiting. Everytime I went for breakfast approx 7am there were street cleaning machines right outside the front window making an awful racket, it was just annoying I felt like I couldn't escape the noise. The water pressure was really weak too took ages to fill a bath I don't know whether that is just an area issue though? As other establishments I used seemed to have low water pressure too On the whole nice but could do better with a few easy changes

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor by the deliveries
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaulMeireles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

First time I have stayed here and it was excellent.Spent two nights in a very comfortable room.Rick took my car and parked it and took my bags to my room nothing was to much trouble for him a real gentleman.The bar is a little expensive and getting a drink can take an age.Breakfast was to a good standard.Overall excellent stay

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWhoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from a two day break at the Angel ! This was our sixth visit in the past eighteen months. Once again it was absolutely great. The room was good as usual and the staff friendly and helpful. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Had a room in the coach house on this occasion and found there was early morning noise. Think it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
10.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing