We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, great location”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Angel is located in the heart of Bury St Edmunds but with free parking.

Our room was spotless and comfortable.

We had a good meal in the dining room which represented value for money.

The staff were great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Angel courtesy of hubbys employers ,there were a few of us staying there , the rooms are lovely ,we had a huge bed which was very comfortable.The room was spotless ,the bathroom was spacious with lovely fluffy towels and fluffy dressing gowns. The staff were all helpful and polite and the breakfast was lovely and plenty of it . There are lots of curios and pictures to look at lots of little niches and corners to explore. We all got back from the one bull inn where we had a super meal and sat in the lounge area near the lovely large log fire which smelt wonderful ,we only stayed one night and had a fabulous time .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank septicpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The restaurant is really nicely furnished so as a venue it looks fairly impressive. I dined here for the menu to have a main course for just under a tenner, but for a little more two or three courses can be had. I had the homemade wild mushroom tagliatelle with spinach and garlic which was fine, but it tasted over seasoned with salt which I wasn't too keen on. I've had a similar dish here about a year ago and it was much nicer which shows that they can get it right. I wasn't that impressed by the menu which was why I didn't opt for any more courses. The menu seems very meat-oriented - some more vegetarian choice would be a real improvement. The wine selection and service were both good though.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tigerlily18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Cracking location in the centre of Bury makes this a perfect place to stay if you are wishing to explore the town. Despite being in the centre, the rooms dont suffer from traffice noise or revellers.

The plumbing does however make some strange noises in the middle of the night.

The room was comfortable but had a few annoying faults, crack in hand basin for example but generally neat and tidy.

What made the stay special was the excellent food, some of the best I've tasted, certainly outside Lonpon.

Also the willing and very friendly staff.

Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiredbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at The Angel for a friend's wedding in September. I was told at the time of booking there were no "standard" rooms available so we opted for their next level up (coach I think) which was £150 a night. We often stay in nice hotels and so expected quite a good room for this price per night. Sadly we were very disappointed. We were in a room facing the hotel car park. The curtains were faded by the sunlight as was the chair in the window. The room was small and extremely basic in design. Whilst the bed was reasonably comfortable, it had an exposed divan base which was a ghastly faded blue colour. Why not cover this?? The bathroom had sealant which was turning black around the edge of the bath. The carpet was worn and the general decor was very old fashioned. The hotel is in a very beautiful building and very central so I guess they think they can charge these high rates for poor quality rooms. The one positive was the breakfast which was delicious - not a buffet breakfast thankfully for this price! Sadly all our group staying at the hotel thought the rooms were definitely below average and we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden aspect - not facing the hotel car park or the front of the hotel (also a massive pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay September and had a fabulous room over looking the Abbey Gardens. The rooms are clean and well serviced and the breakfast is great. This is a central hotel and is easy walking to all attractions. The staff are very attentive and friendly, can't fault it and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Joulescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great hotel, great location, great town. Service was gennerally good, lovely food and rooms.
Service was a little slow for dinner but it was a good meal.
The only real moan was that the bar bills were a little high, but dont let that put you off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moscar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
506 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
226 reviews
10.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range: $132 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing