We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Let's start with the good - the bed was comfortable enough. But the shower was awful, slowed to an absolute dribble before stopping completely. This happened at 7am and I thought that "everyone must be showering at the same time - ah well it happens" but it did the same thing at 6pm that evening. Customer service training wouldn't go amiss either. How difficult is it to say I'm sorry about that, I'll report it to maintenance rather than I'll tell maintenance.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    70
    112
    83
    79
See reviews for
59
132
15
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

What do you expect if you pay £50 for a nights stay? This isn't the best hotel I have stayed in but it isn't the worst. The rooms were clean-ish ... apart from a tea stain on my pillow case everything else was clean. The staff are friendly enough and the breakfast wasn't bad either. As this was the only hotel in the area near to an event we were going to this was good on location and convenience - it was perfect for a few hours kip.
This hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMilli1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our stay was paid for with a gift voucher so the cost was not relevant to us however I would have felt very disappointed if we had paid the advertised room rate. We arrived the day after it was announced that the company had gone into administration so perhaps the atmosphere was unlikely to be buzzing. The dining room was closed ( and had been for a week) so no dinner and we never did find the local pub to which we were directed. The location was much further out of the town than the description suggested so definitely not within walking distance of a restaurant. The dinner on the second night was edible but was disappointing. The waiter tried hard and sympathised with our disappointment ...he was definitely a credit to the place as was the cleaning lady who went out of her way to be sure we had everything we needed. The decor throughout was tired but perhaps this will be addressed if a buyer can be found.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here on business in March. The Hotel is well situated just off the main road through the town. The welcome at reception was friendly and efficient and the bedroom though basic, was comfortable. The bathroom was showing signs of age and would benefit from a refurb but overall it was OK. Dinner in restaurant area was fine and with the football on the TV at the end of the restaurant, I was quite satisfied. Breakfast was more of a disappointment with no porridge available and I was directed to a dirty table which had already been used and not cleaned by an elderly waitress. The buffet was overcooked, dried up with skin on the beans and puddles of fat all over the breakfast trays. Clearly this was not replenished and updated regularly and I was put off by this. What finally capped it off was the waitress clearing down the buffet and gobbling up the left over sausage on the tray in full view. Not a pleasant experience. However that said, the hotel is fine in the main and with some attention to detail `could' actually be very good.

Room Tip: Get there early for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Room was clean and adequate, service was good at reception and excellent on Saturday, but average on Sunday for breakfast. We received a phone message the day before we were going to say the restaurant was closed in the evening for the 2 days we were there, which wasn't a problem for us, but for some less fitter people, I am sure it would be, as town centre and facilities are 3/4-1 mile away! No problem with car parking as there is enough space for 200 cars.

Room Tip: Must ask for room on the other side to the dreaded A14, which is very close!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

my first impressions of the hotel were not great. The building itself is dated and tired and could do with a complete refurb this side of 1990 and the service at check in was slow... There is no lift and 1000 stairs to my room.. The room was basic no trouser press, no safe, no iron and a basic bathroom which was reasonably clean! The room itself is again dated and tired and the window didn't shut properly! I stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks while working! I had breakfast and dinner there everyday, The breakfast was a cooked and continental well there was a basic cooked breakfast, some cereal and a toaster that didn't work properly. Also I am a vegetarian and the staff seemed mortified at the fact I asked for veggie sausages for breakfast! The tables in the dining room were sticky also. The dinner meals were slighty better with a larger choice available, although when you had selected the meal they would often come out 30 mins later to tell you that the meal you has ordered was out of stock and not available. The staff were quite friendly and seem to make the most of a bad situation. I wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Started badly when the room was still being cleaned late so had to wait to get in. Got up for breakfast in the morning after noisy staff messing about outside the rooms in the hall with towels etc.. Went down for brekkie got a plate off the cook who tried to get dried egg off it with his thumb nail so I asked for another plate. My missus made me a tea and the cup was dirty and had a crack from top to bottom. Luckily on check out the receptionist didn't ask about the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bury St. Edmunds hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.8 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Property: Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Address: Symonds Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Hotel Bury St Edmunds, this is a modern hotel located close to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds. Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds is located on the edge of the delightful old town and is in close proximity to Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket, making it the ideal base from which to explore the charms of East Anglia. When choosing hotels in Bury St Edmunds, the comfortable surroundings and great service make Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bury St. Edmunds Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds Ramada
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing