We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We checked in pretty late... The hotel has a strange feel to it but a comfortable one !!!
The place feels very homely!!!
Room was just what we needed .... Right near a sainsburys and petrol station which is good
It's about a 3 minute taxi journey to the town centre
The reception team said the street market on a Saturday is no good... But I thought it was pretty cool!!
Night life was actually quite decent , the wether spoons doesn't look nor feel like one ., we thought we were standing next to a museum!!!
Overall if your not from the area and fancy something a bit different but not too out of the way then bury is a pretty cool place to go.. And the quality hotel isn't too bad either!! Only down side was the 78 pound per night not including breaky :(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cypruslover1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    75
    117
    89
    85
See reviews for
65
140
17
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Two rooms booked. Had to move from one room as it was smelling of sewerage and damp. The other room was found to have blood and spittle on the walls, human facaes in the loo, food on the floor and an uncleaned bathroom. We dared not risk 'eating there', so went across the road to the supermarket chain 'Sainsbury's and for four breakfasts it worked out £42 cheaper than eating at the Quality Hotel. This hotel is on a 'gateway holiday route' into the UK from Harwich and is nothing short of being dirty and verminous. It needs a complete overhaul in furnishings (ripped) and in hotel daily care. We demand a refund.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBury, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Mr Hinges

I am very disappointed to read that you had left a review as I believed I had compensated you sufficiently from our discussions regarding your issues to leave you with the confidence that the issues that arose during your stay were limited a room that is awaiting refurbishment works to co inside with the works carried out in the majority of the hotel bedrooms over the last 6 months.

I appreciate the pictures and room quality was not to a good standard and I apologize again that you were allocated this room.

The bedroom works will be completed throughout the hotel by November 13 which will mean the standard of room will improve throughout.

Regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bury St. Edmunds hotels

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We checked in to our 2 rooms (311 and 312)and were given one key that did not work so had to trek back to reception to get a working one. On opening the room realised the window had been left open and one look at the bathroom showed why-mouldy unclean shower. We walked straight out and asked to move-we were given room 304 which was ok but did have an underlying slight damp smell and a dubious looking Green pool of water in the corner of the shower. Room 311 was not up to scratch but better than 312-a discount was given for this.

The bar area chairs were very rough looking with broken leather.

The Hall ceilings were damaged on our corridor and bits of gum wedged into the holes where it looked like water may have leaked through.

I refused point blank to pay 13.95 per person to have breakfast which looked empty anyway and we opted for sainsburys across the road.

Would not stay here again even though it looked like they were working on some areas of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckiH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked this hotel cheaply via laterooms and it was a good price compared to other hotels in the area. Basically all we needed was a clean comfortable room as we had plans during the days and evenings. On arrival myself and my sister noticed that it was a little shabby on the outside and dated decor once walking into the entrance. We had limited contact with the staff but during the dealings they were friendly and efficient. Check in and check out were a quick process with no complications. The room was clean and comfortable. My only bug bear was that the room was warm and we needed the window open - we were on the ground floor so felt a little apprehensive leaving it open all night but in the end there were no problems. When booking we were advised that the hotel had no twin rooms left but on arrival this had all been arranged for us so this was a good surprise. Everything in the room was in good working order, the linen fresh and the bathroom/bedroom clean. We didnt have breakfast here as I thought the prices were a little extravagant, so we went to a local farm shop for a full english which was excellent. Overall, a basic pleasant stay. If your looking for a comfortable clean bed and somewhere to wash and change then this is good value for money. I wouldnt come here however for a special occassion or a weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

the double room was very clean and comfortable. it was very hot and the windows are limited to opening a small amount so we asked reception for a fan which was provided when we arrived back later in the day as was a kettle, the one in the room was not working. it is 5 minutes drive into bury st edmunds or a 15-20minute stroll. breakfast was good with eggs cooked to order how ever you like. the noise of the nearby A14 could be a problem for some but we live on a busy main road so it didn't bother us. staff were very efficient. we didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but can recommend VC's indian restaurant in bury it was excellent. would deffinitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannyknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Sally K,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us an would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Quality Hotel Bury St edmunds again in the future.

Regards

Mark Sheppard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is in need of a refurb throughout from the restaurant, reception and rooms. Though the rooms were clean enough they felt very tired. The reception area was very drab and the restaurant area similarly so. To add to the "experience" I killed two ants on the table whilst eating breakfast... needless to say we won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBury, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am firstly very pleased to read that you found the rooms to be clean.

We are currently working through the bedroom areas to improve the quality of these and plan to commence works within the front of house areas over the coming weeks.

Due to the hot weather we found a number of Ants in and around the hotel. We took decisive action upon discovering these and the ants have now been dealt with by our Pest control contractor.

Regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stay for one night £34.50
I was really wowed as I entered the room. It really is a quality hotel. Will definitely recommend, close to 4 star rooms. 1 minute drive from sainsbury. Car park loads of parking spaces.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony2k12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBury, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest

I was delighted to read your review and am please that the work we have carried out at the hotel has had a positive effect.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St. Edmunds
1.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,183 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
211 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Property: Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Address: Symonds Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 7DZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Bury St. Edmunds)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Hotel Bury St Edmunds, this is a modern hotel located close to the historic town of Bury St Edmunds. Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds is located on the edge of the delightful old town and is in close proximity to Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket, making it the ideal base from which to explore the charms of East Anglia. When choosing hotels in Bury St Edmunds, the comfortable surroundings and great service make Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bury St. Edmunds Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds Ramada
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing