We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the visit”

Greene King Brewery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Attached to the beautiful Greene King brewery, our beer cafe is open Monday to Friday 8am to 6pm and Saturday 10am to 6pm. Brunch and Lunch served Monday to Friday 8am - 2pm Saturday 10am - 3pm. We have Brewery Tours everyday and a shop for beers, clothing and gifts. Upstairs we have a great party venue for up to 45 people. Call us on 01284 714297 - Cheers!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Grandville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well Worth the visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I really enjoyed this tour, the guide was very friendly and hospitable. You get to see a good amount of the brewery. They have a nice large to store to buy glasses and bottles of beers. But by far my favorite part was the visit to the tap room. They had a large selection of beers to try and let you try quite a few. Our guide was also very knowledgeable about the town and had some great recommendations on what else to see in Bury St Edmunds and what pubs to visit. I would gladly visit here again. To bad I cannot get Green Kings Selection of Beers in America. I have only found the Abbott!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_GR_Blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    80
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Sadly over the last 4 years since i discovered it I've done the tour five times with various friends and family. Never get bored of if it, informative and fun every time. Guides are knowledgable and enthusiastic, the tour is just the right amount of waking and talking before you get to sample the excellent brews! Great value for money and never been disappointed.

There are quite a few steps on the tour but my friends 90+ grandad managed it and was still first in line for tasting!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant tour and tasting”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I went on the Greene King Brewery tour in Bury and enjoyed a very entertaining afternoon! We were surprised by the amount of history we learnt about the area. We also learnt about the company, its business, and the area it occupies. Mike King, our tour guide for the afternoon, is a wealth of knowledge and showed us around the factory explaining each process along the way and its heritage. The view from the factory roof was amazing, and Mike pointed out more locations where the company completes other parts of the processes for the final product. The tour concluded with a tasting session of cask ales, bottled beers and some chutneys, marmalade and mustard. Mike was very entertaining and able to answer many questions! I would thoroughly recommend this tour, and can see it would appeal to both adults and children. Thank you Mike for a great afternoon and tasting session.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Maureen, our guide, was friendly, and full of knowledge. She kept the tour moving and answered any questions as we went. She gave great info about the beers and chutney we sampled at the end. The brewery itself was interesting to see. Recommend make a reservation for the tour ahead of time as they book up quickly for the weekend tours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great and Interesting Tour”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having lived in Bury for 25+ years this was my first visit to the Brewery with a Sheppard Neame addict from Kent. We both found it excellent value, Interesting and a worth while experience.

The tour Guides made the tour fascinating with little anecdotes and family history. We visited on a Saturday and the Tour took almost 2 hours including a visit to the 'hospitality bar'. You have not got to be a beer lover to enjoy this trip as the history lesson and views over the town from the roof are in themselves a highlight.

If any management read these reviews they should give the tour guides a pay rise...well done.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greene King Brewery also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds
 

Been to Greene King Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing