We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”

Wilcrofts Home Cooked Food House
Ranked #163 of 213 Restaurants in Bury St. Edmunds
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Elmswell
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Thought I would try somewhere different to my usual lunch destination....was very busy but managed to get a small table in a corner...service was pretty quick...unfortunately I wanted the quiche & salad which was on the wall menu....was told it wasn't gonna be ready for another hour due to a late egg delivery...so bit disappointed and wondered why it was advertised when not yet available...anyway I settled for an egg mayo & tomato sandwich....which arrived very quick....was impressed with that....only minus there I think was that the tomato was mainly in chunks in the sandwich would have been far better sliced ...otherwise bread was lovely & fresh and there was plenty of filling....no free wifi available bit of a letdown for a single person dining but that's just a personal thing....not sure how often the toilet is checked as there was soggy toilet roll on the floor which wasn't too pleasant....overall my food was good...atmosphere for me as a solo person dining not the best but ok....Bury is full of various eating places now...there are better :-)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    6
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Capel Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here on several occasions. This independent cafe sources food locally where possible. The breakfast includes proper bacon and sausages made to the restaurant's own recipe. Their Sunday lunches are, in my opinion, the best in Bury.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank damoore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could have been better, well for me anyway.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My partner and I ate lunch here on a very busy Saturday lunchtime. Partner had chilli and wedges and said it was lovely. I had a cheese and ham baguette which was very tasteless. Good old fashioned menu and a very popular place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely food”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The standard of food was amazing. It's a must go. I'd happily take my family every day of the week. The service was amazing. Never been treated so well in a restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good quality food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

When in town i always use this restaurant for breakfast if I am up early enough or lunch because i know what to expect. Their breakfast is the best in town, for value and quality. Ok I might have to queue for lunch and might have to wait before I get my food but at least i know that way round i i know it hasn't come out of a pre-packed bag!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilcrofts Home Cooked Food House also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Wilcrofts Home Cooked Food House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing