We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different Indian”

Orissa Indian restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Different Indian”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Another recommendation, not far from where we were staying. It is quite a small place and although we had not booked a table they were able to seat us on a Friday night at 7pm.

The menu was extensive and I defy anyone not to find something to try. We felt this was an Indian menu with a twist, modern maybe. The onion bahjis were to die for, they were not greasy in anyway and they were as light as a feather and very tasty. I had a chicken korma and again very tasty, chicken was not over cooked and the sauce delicious. I liked the fact that the dish came with rice and was not charged as an extra. My husband had a duck dish and he raved about this for ages. We also had a naan bread which was light and fluffy, not a prepacked one, thick and chewy.

We would recommend this and would definitely eat here again. It is a very busy little place not only for sitting in but for takeaway too. I think that maybe it would be wise to book a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janesi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    82
    25
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“No atmosphere, very expensive”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The restaurant itself is quite nice, arrived at 7.45pm on a week night so wasn't expecting it to be super busy, but there was only 2 other people in there...bad start! The food itself was ok but nothing special. I have never seen so little choice of pickles or quantity with the poppadoms, I had a main lamb dish that was so heavily dyed red it made me reluctant to eat it. I have been to lots of Indian restaurants (weekly) and I travel to India, I have yet to see a dish that resembled what I ate that night.

15 mins into the meal another couple arrived and were promptly sat right next to us...in a totally empty restaurant! The real shock however, was the bill;

x3 poppadoms
x2 main dishes (rice included, small portions)
x1 nann
x1 Roti
x1 Gin & Tonic
x1 Tonic water
x1 water (tap)

Total £41.00

High end restaurant prices, certainly not high end food, the only thing more dissapointing was my deranged dinner date! ha ha

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NightBreed01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Eloquent”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've been there a few times and feel that the level of quality for atmosphere, service and food create a memorable experience. At first glance the stylish decor would have one assume this to be a pricey establishment however the dishes were good value for money, whilst the quality reflected that of a well established restaurant. Summarily? Highly satisfactory

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MannyChikaviro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“night out with Frineds”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we went her in Decmber 2012 with friends only to find the resturant was extremely bus and out table was not ready, the resturant had no where to put us so we wnet back to the bar and went back half an hour later. the staff were not that ameniable when we complained about having to wait. i think we got a round of free drinks. We waited ages for our food but when it did come it was lovely, not tried an inidain quite like it before. My tip would be to not go in a busy period and you will have a lovely time

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissMeme33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always nice food”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been on several occasions to this restuarant for meals and takeaways, its nice that its a little different from others in town a bit more expensive but interesting choices.
A little cramped on space but have always enjoyed it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 876kitkat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orissa Indian restaurant also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Orissa Indian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing