We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B's we've stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best B&B's we've stayed at!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We recently stayed at The Old Pear Tree, when we visited Bury St Edmunds Christmas market (November 2012) and we were very happy with our stay. We stayed in the Conference room, which has a definite "wow factor". Very spacious, yet quaint and cosy at the same time. We found everything very clean (to me, that is really important!). The bed was very comfortable and the room was well stocked up with teas and one bottle of mineral water per guest. The host was ever so friendly and accommodating. I'm a vegan and the lady was very happy to provide a vegan breakfast (delicious and very generous in quantity too!). We stayed with our young son (aged 5) and he was made to feel very welcome, so much so, he thought we were staying with friends :-). He didn't want to leave! When we asked him what was the best bit of the Christmas market weekend for him, his reply was: "the B&B!". I think it was for us too, even though we loved the Christmas market as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
42
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just had the christmas market weekend 2012 at the old pear tree, very warm welcome, nothing to much trouble, great breakfast and loverly setting would recommend for a great break away.The rooms were warm,cosy and very welcoming,

Room Tip: we had two ensuite rooms booked they were both top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here recently with my wife and daughter. From the moment we walked through the door you could feel the positive vibes. Stayed in family room which was an excellent size. Having own en suite facilities meant it was not a problem all of us getting ready for wedding in just over an hour. Excellent breakfast and very freindly and informative host. Would highly recommend to any staying in area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Jenny and Peter were very welcoming. We had to arrive late but this did not phase them. Thankfully there was an illuminated sign on the roadside, otherwise it might have been a challenge to find it at night!

The room was very comfortable (complimentary bottles of water too!) and the fact that the bathroom (for our exclusive use) was down the hall (10 paces?) was not inconvenient. The breakfast was great and kept us going for the morning (and beyond)! Good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

One of the best B&B ever!! Hosts were very welcoming and full of advices on what to see. The house is a wonderful example of English cottage, very clean and full of character. Breakfast will keep you going through the all day and the rooms have every facilities. Bury st. Edmunds is near and you can go there for your dinner in no time. in short: GO THERE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We originally booked to stay two nights but had to change our plans and only stay one night. After the first night we were disappoined not to be staying the second night! The room was large and well furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful and the hosts were very welcoming and friendly. We have nothing but praise!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane14E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We had a family room for 2 nights. The telephone number was passed on to us via a taxi driver from Bury St Edmunds. All the previous reviews say it all - this is an excellent bed and breakfast choice. The hosts are welcoming and considerate in finding out if they can give any extra local information. Breakfasts are a delight with fresh fruit available. Sensibly, they allow you to choose breakfast options the night before should you wish, so food is not wasted. The location is good and the lights are lit at night so easy to find and park. There are some very good eating places locally, but a little tucked away. Just ask.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ixworth House
Ixworth House
#1 of 3 in Ixworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
Address: Whepstead, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 4UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Pear Tree offers comfortable bed & breakfast for those looking to stay in homely accommodation. It is centrally located for walks in Ickworth Country Park,sightseeing in Cambridge,a day at the races in Newmarket or a few minutes from Bury St Edmunds, The Old Pear Tree offers a friendly home from home atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing