We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pea Porridge

Pea Porridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a excellent post birthday meal here with friends. Small restaurant which from the outside looks just like someones house. Once inside we were made to feel most welcome. The menu changes on a daily basis so every visit should be different. Everything was explained and small samples of food were brought out for us to try. Will certainly be back for another excellent dining experience!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian-jolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    104
    30
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went for lunch. Good tasty and interesting menu. Great location and service. thoroughly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“3 years +”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have used this beautiful restaurant since it opened we have never been disapointed with any element of the service or food. Jurga (front of house) has a wonderful sense of humour and Justin (the best chef in East Anglia and maybe England) the chef who has delivered evertime. I have eaten in most of the best resturants in Suffolk/Norfolk/London and abroad (a hobby of ours). If you ever get the chance to eat at this haven of Bury St Edmunds for foodies and the adventerous please do, it's a WOW experience. Let Jurga choose the wine for you to match the meal, she has a great knowledge of fine wines and Justin and his team of masters of food will do the rest enjoy. J & J enjoy your Christmas break well earned!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

First time a this restaurant, cosy room (though the door to the loo needs closing properly!), friendly helpful staff and really, really good food.
Lots of local produce, imaginative ideas but not fussy or cheffy.

Considering how much we ate, the number of courses and wine, very good value

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frank338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostuni, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely a revisiter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went on a Sunday night for a "business" dinner -cooked just for our meeting -and we will definitely be back. It's a quirky building, an old bakery, which we visited several times when it was a different restaurant years ago. Now it's much cosier, and the chef-proprietor and his lady wife-front of house- have produced a delightful place with superb food -"I just put a little of this and that together" WOW We will be back!
Can't review prices or anything else-don't know yet! More will come next year!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank netty61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pea Porridge also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Pea Porridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing