We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was great. I recommend it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chantry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chantry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was great. I recommend it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just had a very good experience staying at The Chantry. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the building spotlessly clean and well decorated. We had a simple standard twin room but it had all the things you need to make your stay comfortable and was clean and well appointed.
Breakfast was excellent; varied and well cooked. There was ample free parking at the back of the hotel which was a bonus.(One of the reasons we chose this hotel).
There was always hot water for a shower and tea and coffee facilities were always topped up daily.
One point for reference and is not meant as a criticism is that in this wonderful fine weather we are having it would have been nice to have a sheet on the bed rather than just the duvet so I could stay covered and cool.
The hotel is only a few minutes walking distance from the Cathedral and the town of Bury St Edmund which is a wonderful town to visit.
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would gladly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MudgyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    53
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
81
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just an overnight stay as visiting RAF Mildenhall but the room was beautiful.
Lovely big bed and immaculate bathroom really made it a lovely stay. Breakfast was great - good choice of cold buffet and a fully cooked breakfast if you wanted. Literally a 5 minute stroll into the centre and a good choice of Bars and Restaurants. All of the Hotel staff were great and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at the Chantry Hotel whilst on business. After my epic 4 hour drive I was delighted with the reception I got. Free parking at the back of the hotel, superb breakfast (poached eggs are perfect), the room I was in was a single with a wonderfully large shower, the shower itself was not the most powerful but it did the job. It's only a 5 minute walk into the main town and there you can sample some of the many pubs and restaurants Bury has to offer. I also made a brief stop at the Cathedral which was beautiful. My only one gripe was, due to the lovely weather, I had to keep the window open in my room but this meant I heard every single bike, lorry and car that went past which was a bit annoying (especially at 5 in the morning). I would definetly stay here again but I'd ask for a different room.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

two bridesmaids, one usher , one bride , stayed in the tudor suite . rooms were clean, fresh and well maintained . breakfasts were fantastic and set us up for the big day, on return with groom and a few guest, again rooms cleaned and stocks replenished. sunday morning , a little less exuberance from us but a full english of fresh local ingredients and a pot of hot coffee, saw us on our way . paying the bill was a joy, and would stay again gladly.

Room Tip: tudor annex is superb . room 17 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryHolingsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a party of 9 in July, found the hotel easily located very close to town centre. Rooms of a good standard and very clean - free parking was a bonus.

The hotel has wifi with good speed, found the breakfast excellent in selection and quality.

We highly rate this hotel and will return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Chantry for two nights in early July 2013 while visiting Bury St Edmunds for a wedding . The hotel was very good . The location is great - 5 minutes walk from the centre of the town with free parking. My room was comfortable and very clean . The staff were helpful and friendly . Breakfast was great - a wide choice , including a cooked full English breakfast if you want it . The hotel was peaceful and quiet and great value for money . I would thoroughly recommend the Chantry - if you are looking for fancy decor and lots of facilities then this might not be the place for you , but if you want a very clean and comfortable and good value place to stay in the centre of Bury St Edmunds , then this is a good choice .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

stayed here during a recent wedding in Bury St Edmunds - great location and plenty of free car parking at the back of the hotel
great location with a 5 min walk into town and the main square.
room large and very comfortable - also impressed with the breakfast which used good quality ingredients
would recommend highly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinfjlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Property: The Chantry Hotel
Address: 8 Sparhawk Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. It is close to the town centre,shops and restaurants. It offers 14 en-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Chantry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing