We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chantry Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Bury St. Edmunds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Priory Hotel(Bury St. Edmunds)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
All Saints Hotel(Bury St. Edmunds)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuddenham Mill(Tuddenham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
164
65
11
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
65
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelantique bedcomplimentary teano hesitation in recommending this hoteltown centrest mary's churchshort walkcar parkgreene king brewerylovely hotelwould stay againcooked optionslittle gemvery comfortable roomkipperswithin easy walking distancea lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 244 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with a friendly atmosphere. I liked the history of the place. Our room was spacious with room for a Chesterfield sofa. TV good. Hairdryer, and iron with little board supplied in the room. The ensuite was fine, and the shower very powerful. Bed and linen luxurious. Room very cosy, if a little too warm. Breakfast delicious. Parking on site. The only thing - it's not the cheapest place to stay. You can walk to the town centre and Abbey in 5 mins; the Theatre Royal and Greene King Brewery in 2 mins, so the location is fantastic. The town has a lot to offer for a couple of days. I would stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter from traffic, but stairs to this floor are quite steep.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here a few times now, most recently in Feb 2013, and each time has been a fantastic experience. A lovely hotel, very good sized rooms with lovely decor throughout. Very friendly and approachable staff. Reasonable room rates for the area, especially given the location and standard. A very nice breakfast, great choice and quality....all included in the price. Very good location only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town. We will definitely use again and would recommend you do too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kev3742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in Bury for one night on New Years Eve and was so pleased that we booked The Chantry. Ideally located just a short walk from the beautiful town centre, The Chantry is a small, family-run hotel with friendly, helpful staff, well decorated and clean bedrooms, free parking, free wifi and a small bar.

The bedroom we stayed in was a 'superior double'. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was huge (though the shower wasn't particularly powerful), there was a decent tv, an iron and hairdryer, and the cookies included in the tea/coffee set were delicious!

The breakfast room is clean and spacious, breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious; all fresh ingredients and not swimming in grease.

If we find ourselves in Bury again we will definitely be staying there, and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleckers167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a great hotel. We were booked into the Chantry for one night by friends and I added another night. One of my better decisons! Lovely people; nice room in a quiet but fairly central location. Breakfast is up there with the best. Oh, and Bury is a great place to stay for a couple of days

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipmarl0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed for one night in this lovely BB while on a business trip.What can I say?The hotel is ideally located in the centre of the town but in a peaceful quiet location.There is a good sized car park with ample parking for all guests,not the usual postage size car park that you struggle to move around like some places!
My bedroom was spotlessly clean,the shower a huge walk in type and the bed was I think just about the most comfortable I have ever slept in!
The breakfast was fantastic with a good selection.
The whole place is clean and fresh looking and the hosts very helpful and friendly.There is a small bar and lounge area.
Another plus is there is internet access which is free with a printer attached.
I highly recommend this hotel,just a pity I couldn't have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The hotel has annex rooms so would be ideal for people with walking difficulties.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews