We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable B&B”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dedyghton...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable B&B”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely old house dating from the 1600's, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and an a superb breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay and nothing was too much trouble for Sarah, Excellent.
June n Pete Staughton.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
It is very kind of you to write such a glowing review of your stay here and I
am so delighted you enjoyed your visit so much. I hope we shall see you
here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annepilk
Cephalonia, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic House Experince”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed with Sarah for three nights (two couples) and had a lovely warm reception from her. The house is very old and parts of it date back to 1600. Consequently, level flooring upstairs might be an issue for some, but we were fine with this. The beds were very comfortable with lovely linen and everything was spotless. Sarah cooked us some great breakfasts and made us very welcome. We really enjoyed our stay in Suffolk and Uggeshall is a very convenient place to stay for sightseeing. We have given 4 stars and it would have been 5 if there was an effective shower facility. We had a lovely time Sarah - thank you.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2016
I am pleased you all enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the trouble to write
and so favourably.

On my website, I do give the date the house was built. And whenever age or infirmity are a concern, the age of this house is always pointed out to potential guests, so that they can make their own decision. In 24 years it has not caused a problem !

I presume by "effective shower facility" you mean a proper shower? If only we could put in wonderful power showers here but sadly the considerable length of the house is not conducive to a good flow of water from the header tank on the upper floor at the other end of the house. We do state that we have bathrooms (i.e. with a bath) and if asked, I explain that we have a "telephone style" shower attachment on the taps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbal...
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect B&B!”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have just enjoyed one of the best overnight stays ever!
As a professional musician, I travel all over Europe, and regularly in the UK using private special places to stay, so i speak with over 35 years experience.
This gem of a find was a delight from the warm welcome from the lovely Sarah who couldn't do enough to make my stay comfortable and relaxing.
Tea and cake on arrival, a small jug of fresh milk outside the door for morning tea, and one of the tastiest cooked breakfasts possible, with a vast choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt whilst it was being expertly cooked.
A delightful room with fresh flowers from the garden, and a comfy bed with high quality bedding and pillows, meant a good night's sleep.
Thank you Sarah for such a special place to stay, and I look forward to the next time soon.......

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2016
It was an absolute joy having you both to stay and I amo delighted to read that
you enjoyed your stay so much. You wrote so kindly and it reflected your huge
enthusiasm for life etc. Thank you so much for making the effort... particularly with
such a busy life. And I look forward to the next time and for longer !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulengel...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discovering Suffolk”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a charming and characterful farmhouse with a charming and characterful hostess, Sarah, full of good humour and hospitality. The rooms were comfortable, with peaceful rural views. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice and some of the best sausages eaten in a while.
We were unlucky with the weather, but found plenty of interest. Uggeshall is a little way of the main A12 and is conveniently placed for exploring Aldeburgh, Southwold etc. and a number of spectacular mediaeval churches with angel ceilings.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2016
It was super having you three to stay here and I was so thrilled to find you had written
so enthusiastically about your stay here. Thank you so much for doing that.
We do try to make it work and it is lovely to get that affirmation that we are "getting it right" !

Will we ever forget the boiled egg scenario?!

Very much hope we may see you again in Suffolk sometime.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrippyCla...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Characterful old house tastefully decorated in neutral colours with lovely fresh flower arrangements.
Helpful and relaxed (and nicely unobtrusive) host.
Our breakfast included local eggs, and especially nice coffee and sausages.
Located a few minutes drive from the main road, so it's easy to find but far enough down the little lane so it feels quiet and tucked away. Next to an unusual thatched church.
An old waggy-tailed labrador barks when you arrive but then disappears back to bed!
Glad we chose this B&B - would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2016
Clare, thank you so much for writing such an informative review on the plusses
of staying here - we so appreciate that. And it is so useful to other readers.
I much enjoyed having you here and very much hope we shall see you again
here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T
1 review
“Lovely peaceful stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed here over night in september. Nice peaceful and clean rooms and stunnung overall house. Clear communications and instructions by owner (Sarah ) who also made us feel very welcome and looked after us. Breakfast was fresh and high quality with enough to satisfy. Would definitely stay again. Lovely location and feel :)

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
It is always good to have written affirmation that you have enjoyed your stay
and I am delighted you could write such lovely things. Thank you so much for
taking the effort to make your comments known. I very much hope we
shall see you again next year. .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second visit to Church Farmhouse, Uggeshall”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Wonderful second stay at Church Farmhouse, lovely comfortable room with fabulous view, generous
breakfasts served by the very charming Sarah, nothing was too much trouble, we
cannot wait to go again in the spring Phillipa Wimbledon

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
I do put a lot of effort into making our guests feel comfortable and at
home here, so it is lovely to hear that we have "got it right " !
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments
down and I hope we shall see you again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing