We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway”
Review of Oak Farm Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oak Farm Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We arrived late on a Friday night and the owner was there to greet us and show us to our lovely quaint room with oak beams and oodles of character...plus a flatscreen tv and dvd player to keep things modern aswell.

The dining room / lounge was next door and had use of cd player, jigsaw puzzles, computer with internet, sofas etc plus an 'honesty bar' for alcohol etc which we felt was a lovely touch. Local guides, books, dvd's, wellies for walking, etc etc for all available free of charge and although we kept our brekkie healthy each day due to our current weight watchers routine(!), the poached eggs and toast were lovely!

Location was perfect for local walks and country pubs within a 10 minute drive...plus Bury St Ed only 10 minutes away.

Definately beats a hotel enviroment for the sort of relaxed weekend we were after and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
83
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Just returned home from a 5 night stay at Oak Farm Barn.Though outside temperatures did not get above freezing, the sun glistening on the snow added to the beauty of the location.
Oak Farm Barn was warm,cosy,clean and homely.
Ray and Rachel are a lovely,genuine couple,whose aim it is to please.They have a wealth of knowledge to share with you regarding places to visit and dine.
The breakfasts are great,just the incentive you need to get you up and out of the super luxurious giant bed.
Would definately recommend Oak Farm Barn to others. Thank you.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the room we had. The ground floor double. Very spacious room.Super comfortable e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband, daughter and I had a 2 night stay at Oak Farm Barn while visiting family in Bury St Edmunds in January. It is a beautiful place set in the countryside a few miles from Bury St Edmunds. Rachel and Ray are lovely hosts. The place is immaculate and very relaxing. There is a great lounge to relax in and the breakfasts were fantastic. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie and Del B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I had a 2 night stay at Oak Farm Barn last month and it was absolute bliss from start to finish. Rachel greeted us with a smile and tea and lemon drizzle cake what could be better to start 2 days of relaxation. The Barn itself is spotlessly clean and very comfortable and welcoming. Our bedroom was probably the nicest guest house room we've ever stayed in, it was full of character. The breakfast room doubled up as a very light and airy lounge area to relax in and put your feet up and offered every thing you could wish for in a b&b including free internet access. The breakfast was lovely to. Nothing was too much trouble for Rachel or her staff to make our stay so perfect. We'll definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkreikiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Ray and Rachel were fantastic hosts and have done an amazing job of their barn conversion. It is luxurious, spacious and extremely well thought out. Set out in the countryside, it is very quiet and peaceful and has a lovely garden setting for their guests to enjoy.
The breakfasts are particularly delicious and as has been said, set you up for the day.
Ray and Rachel are locals and very happy to share their knowledge which was very handy for us coming from the other side of the world.

Room Tip: The rooms are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyMarlborough_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

23 people can't be wrong! This has to be one of the best B&Bs I've stayed in - quality in the friendly service and quality in the accommodation. Let's face it, anyone who greets their guests with a slice of delicious home made lemon drizzle cake is on to a winner.
It is a delightful barn conversion, well situated for touring Suffolk. The accommodation is of a very high quality, flat screen TVs, DVD players and wifi (which works!). There is also a light and welcoming lounge for guests' use. Local information is easily to hand and there are some good restaurant/pub suggestions with maps and menus. The breakfast is sumptuous and sets you up for the day. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Superb accommodation, friendly welcome, comfortable rooms and the best breakfast in Suffolk! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
3.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,182 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
486 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
220 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
611 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Cadogan Arms
The Cadogan Arms
#14 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Farm Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Farm Barn

Property: Oak Farm Barn
Address: Moat Lane, Rougham, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 9JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Farm Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two minutes from A14, a friendly welcome awaits you at our converted barn with its many original beams, open-plan staircase/gallery. All rooms ensuite with TV, DVD & free WiFi, furnished to a high standard. We have tried to keep the spirit of the barn, while at the same time, giving an atmosphere of homely charm. Detached from our home, guests are free to come and go as they please. Peaceful with rural views. Ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your Oak Farm Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Farm Barn Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing