We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Kings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Three Kings
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, clean and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I attended a function in Bury and decided to stay overnight so that I could have a drink or two.
The Three Kings has apparently had a few different owners over the last few years and some older reviews may reflect this but its current owners provide a good clean room with all the provisions of a hotel ( trouser press, tv, tea and coffee etc). Wifi is available for free but the signal is weak so you may only get it in the pub itself. The rooms are separate from the pub so you can come and go as you please. A lovely english breakfast was provided and served promptly. I would recommend a stay here and will do again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
31
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Headley Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night this week. We shared a twin room. We paid £40 each which included a wonderful breakfast. The room was very clean, the beds comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We ate supper here as well and can recommend the ribs and hot chocolate Brownie. Drank pints of Abbot which were kept perfectly. A lovely pub and only a mile or so to the Green King Brewery.
We were here to sort out the funeral arrangements for a family member and were really looked after by the staff.
Probably having the wake here as well.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholassguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived at the Three Kings with some trepidation having read previous comments on trip advisor!!!
We were warmly greeted by two members of staff who were working behind the bar and then given the key to our room - 109. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and more than adequate for our needs.
The evening meal offered a wide range of choices and was excellent. The bar/ waiting staff were friendly, efficient and well organised. Wendy and Tracy (owners) came into the bar and made us feel very welcome. My other half who is a real ale fanatic, declared himself more than satisfied with the beers.
A good nights sleep was had and this was followed by an excellent cooked breakfast - at last someone who knows how to cook bacon properly!!!
Thank you to all for making this an enjoyable experience - Wendy and Tracey you deserve to succeed and given the least excuse , we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suejohn4944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent two nights here when visiting friends in the area and was a little alarmed by my stay at this hotel. My room was directly opposite the back of the pub and had to small single beds. These beds were not particularly well made and I was very concerned about the overall cleanliness of the room that I chose to sleep on top of the bed rather than in it! The bathroom was filthy - with what appeared to be dirt and/or mould on the grouting on the floor and wall tiles. The water pressure was very low and a previous occupant had left their empty shower gel container in the shower - which did not fill me with a lot of confidence.

Despite the fact that the hotel stated free wifi - I couldn't actually get this in my room. Instead I could only access a weak signal in the pub, making my daily Facetime call to my family impossible. The television provided in the room was smaller than my laptop screen, although the choice of channels was adequate, and I could get any heating to work.

The staff in the bar were, however, very helpful and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit-abroad-in-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December as had a wedding new years eve at the nearby Hengrave Hall which was literally less than 5 mins away by cab. Room was very clean and breakfast good nye morning. Hotel staff very friendly and room comfortable although slightly on the small side,slept well in lovely fresh cotton sheets. Would return again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nhill, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed twice at this hotel on a trip to the UK in November 2012. On both occasions my room was upstairs overlooking the carpark. The rooms were comfortable enough, clean and the heated trouser-press worked - when living out of a suitcase for 4 weeks, that's a definite plus! There was some subdued noise that could be heard from the adjoining unit, but not enough to be intrusive. The staff were helpful and the breakfast more than adequate in both taste and quantity. It is unfortunate, however, that meals are not served on Sunday evenings. This forced me to eat elsewhere, a not-entirely satisfactory experience. The acid-test of any hotel is, 'Would I stay there again?' the answer for me is 'Yes'. In terms of value-for-money this hotel is quite acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not really poor but below average. I note room 103 has already been commented on. I stayed in it also and it clearly has not improved since the first review.
Room tired and not the cleanest. Bathroom poor, shower missing bits and bowel cracked, signs of rust on fittings and shaving light did not work which was a real pain.
Had to pay for room in advance and meal also separately. Whatever happened to paying whilst checking out? In all my years travelling on business, that's never happened before. It sets a tone.
Evening meal frankly not worth the money, uninspiring and lacking taste, although other people eating at the same time seemed to enjoy theirs.
Breakfast very average but missing the beans even though I'd ordered it the night before.

Staff very friendly. Cannot recommend this hotel though, certainly not for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon4188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
0.6 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 56 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Kings

Property: The Three Kings
Address: Hengrave Road | Fornham All Saints, Bury St. Edmunds IP28 6LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Kings 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Kings is a traditional village pub in a pretty small village just two miles from the market town of Bury St Edmunds. Our rooms are situated in a separate block to the rear of the pub, meaning that they can be accessed 24hrs a day without causing disturbance or having to stick to the pub opening times. The rooms all have ensuite facilities, trouser press, hairdryer, fridge and a tv with freeview channels. WiFi is available in the pub and is free of charge. Most of the rooms can pick up the wi-fi. The pub itself is friendly and serves lovely home cooked food. Dogs are welcome in a specific area in the bar and also in the rooms providing they are well behaved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Orbitz so you can book your The Three Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Kings Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The 3 Kings
The Three Kings Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing