We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Old Fashioned Inn With Character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Three Kings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Three Kings
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An Old Fashioned Inn With Character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was a one night stay as part of a business trip.
We were greeted warmly by a very friendly young man and made to feel very welcome from the start.
The room was on the ground floor with a view of a fence! However, because it was winter and therefore dark by early afternoon, it didn't bother us.
The room was fairly spacious although the wardrobe was rather small. The shower/bathroom was a bit musty at first but once we'd used it it improved.
We ate in the Inn and this is where the place came into its own with an imaginative menu, a very good wine list for a 'village inn', very attentive and friendly service and a lovely old fashioned coaching inn atmosphere; I was almost tempted to burst into a folk song but my wife would have belted me!
If we had been staying longer and at a different time of year I wouldn't have wanted the same room; one on the upper storey would have been better.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are very close to the rear of the inn so weekends might be a bit noisy. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Tracy and I took over this lovely old coaching inn just eleven weeks ago and we are thrilled to be recieving such positive reviews at this early stage. We also have had much local support with lovely comments from both the locals and our visitors. Constructive criticism is also welcomed as it will show us better where to focus our energy but we are aware that it is often easier to submit a negative comment than a positive one, so long may these positive comments keep coming. Thank you to all of our customers, you have made us feel very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
31
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We booked in for the Sunday Carvery for four of us, it's was £9.95 each!
There was a selection of beef, turkey and pork all sliced off the joint in front of you, plus a large selection if fresh vegetables. The service was excellent as was the food and I would defiantly recommend it. Can't comment in the rooms as we were not staying thier.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robbo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you, our Sunday carvery is so booked up in advance, we have now started doing a turkey roast dinner on our bar menu on a Sunday too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for one night in Room 103 on the Ground Floor (The King Edward). It is a block within the beer garden, so could be noisy, but we stayed Sunday to Monday and the pub is closed from 5pm on Sundays, so we didn't get to experience sleeping/relaxing with the pub in full swing.

The rooms are dated and are not 4*, regardless of the rating provided by the AA. Our room was dirty with obvious cobwebs from the lights and in the cupboard (which was a wardrobe). The 'ornate' lamps by the side of the bed were caked in thick dust. The shower tray was chipped and the shower was operated by a screw, as the tap/lever that would have been there previously was broken. The groove where the shower cubicle door slid was moudly and grime.

The bed was okay although my partner found it springy on her side. It was one of those places where you just have to shut your eyes and rest, rather than think too much about where you are and what condition the place is in.

Breakfast was okay, but it will not change my mind. I am never staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stormyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
638 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Recently stayed here for one night. It is very easy to find. You stay in an old stable block with comfortable and and big roomsalthough mine did not have a great view and very dark! Excellent shower and bathroom facilities Breakfast form 7.30 and beleive evening mealtiems are limited, which not great is travelling.

Staff were all friendly and happy to help

Would stay again

Room Tip: Try one on the top floor of the stables as quieter and lighter.Ap
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed @ The Three kings for 2 nights. As soon as you entered the room you could smell the damp it was also very dark with just one small window with black mould around the inside of the wood frame. During the night you could hear everything going on in the next room and the TV from the upstairs bed room, not a good nights sleep.
The bathroom was in a poor condition with mould between the tiles.
The cleaning also left a lot to be desired.
Not orth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobbydaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Friendly greeting on arrival. Room conveniently placed off the car park, and despite the position was remarkably quiet. Bedding clean and a comfortable bed. Small TV screen.
The room was adequate but a bit drear. The bathroom definitely could do with a revamp.
Evening meal was 'good pub food' and the breakfast was OK.
Staff friendly throughout our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We recently took over this business (Sep2012) and are striving to ensure it remains friendly and well run.
We take the reviews on Trip Advisor seriously and would like to reassure future guests that we intend improving the accommodation block within a programme of refurbishment over the next year or so.
In the meantime, I would like to thank those (most) of you who gave us good reviews, and who were able to see how clean the establishment is, how friendly and how good the food is here.
We pride ourselves on a personal approach and welcome comments, good or bad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

had to stay in Forenham overnight for a family matter and used the three kings pub for accomodation. The room was basic but comfortable and the Landlord andhis team were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: floors are on 2 levels so ask for a ground floor if you have difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
0.6 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#10 of 56 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Kings

Property: The Three Kings
Address: Hengrave Road | Fornham All Saints, Bury St. Edmunds IP28 6LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Kings 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Kings is a traditional village pub in a pretty small village just two miles from the market town of Bury St Edmunds. Our rooms are situated in a separate block to the rear of the pub, meaning that they can be accessed 24hrs a day without causing disturbance or having to stick to the pub opening times. The rooms all have ensuite facilities, trouser press, hairdryer, fridge and a tv with freeview channels. WiFi is available in the pub and is free of charge. Most of the rooms can pick up the wi-fi. The pub itself is friendly and serves lovely home cooked food. Dogs are welcome in a specific area in the bar and also in the rooms providing they are well behaved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Three Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Kings Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The 3 Kings
The Three Kings Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing