We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery!”
Review of The Three Kings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Three Kings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We booked in for the Sunday Carvery for four of us, it's was £9.95 each!
There was a selection of beef, turkey and pork all sliced off the joint in front of you, plus a large selection if fresh vegetables. The service was excellent as was the food and I would defiantly recommend it. Can't comment in the rooms as we were not staying thier.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Robbo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you, our Sunday carvery is so booked up in advance, we have now started doing a turkey roast dinner on our bar menu on a Sunday too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for one night in Room 103 on the Ground Floor (The King Edward). It is a block within the beer garden, so could be noisy, but we stayed Sunday to Monday and the pub is closed from 5pm on Sundays, so we didn't get to experience sleeping/relaxing with the pub in full swing.

The rooms are dated and are not 4*, regardless of the rating provided by the AA. Our room was dirty with obvious cobwebs from the lights and in the cupboard (which was a wardrobe). The 'ornate' lamps by the side of the bed were caked in thick dust. The shower tray was chipped and the shower was operated by a screw, as the tap/lever that would have been there previously was broken. The groove where the shower cubicle door slid was moudly and grime.

The bed was okay although my partner found it springy on her side. It was one of those places where you just have to shut your eyes and rest, rather than think too much about where you are and what condition the place is in.

Breakfast was okay, but it will not change my mind. I am never staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stormyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Recently stayed here for one night. It is very easy to find. You stay in an old stable block with comfortable and and big roomsalthough mine did not have a great view and very dark! Excellent shower and bathroom facilities Breakfast form 7.30 and beleive evening mealtiems are limited, which not great is travelling.

Staff were all friendly and happy to help

Would stay again

Room Tip: Try one on the top floor of the stables as quieter and lighter.Ap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed @ The Three kings for 2 nights. As soon as you entered the room you could smell the damp it was also very dark with just one small window with black mould around the inside of the wood frame. During the night you could hear everything going on in the next room and the TV from the upstairs bed room, not a good nights sleep.
The bathroom was in a poor condition with mould between the tiles.
The cleaning also left a lot to be desired.
Not orth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobbydaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Friendly greeting on arrival. Room conveniently placed off the car park, and despite the position was remarkably quiet. Bedding clean and a comfortable bed. Small TV screen.
The room was adequate but a bit drear. The bathroom definitely could do with a revamp.
Evening meal was 'good pub food' and the breakfast was OK.
Staff friendly throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3KsFornhamAllSaints, Owner at The Three Kings, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We recently took over this business (Sep2012) and are striving to ensure it remains friendly and well run.
We take the reviews on Trip Advisor seriously and would like to reassure future guests that we intend improving the accommodation block within a programme of refurbishment over the next year or so.
In the meantime, I would like to thank those (most) of you who gave us good reviews, and who were able to see how clean the establishment is, how friendly and how good the food is here.
We pride ourselves on a personal approach and welcome comments, good or bad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

had to stay in Forenham overnight for a family matter and used the three kings pub for accomodation. The room was basic but comfortable and the Landlord andhis team were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: floors are on 2 levels so ask for a ground floor if you have difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Three Kings is a pub with rooms attached. We were not staying there, but called in for lunch. Rather unprepossing looking - a little gloomy. The table we used was sticky which was off-putting. The staff were helpful and friendly and the pub lunch was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
517 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
499 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
265 reviews
2 mi away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#10 of 53 in Bury St. Edmunds
211 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Den
The Den
#3 of 3 in Ixworth
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Kings

Address: Hengrave Road | Fornham All Saints, Bury St. Edmunds IP28 6LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range: $112 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Kings 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Kings is a traditional village pub in a pretty small village just two miles from the market town of Bury St Edmunds. Our rooms are situated in a separate block to the rear of the pub, meaning that they can be accessed 24hrs a day without causing disturbance or having to stick to the pub opening times. The rooms all have ensuite facilities, trouser press, hairdryer, fridge and a tv with freeview channels. WiFi is available in the pub and is free of charge. Most of the rooms can pick up the wi-fi. The pub itself is friendly and serves lovely home cooked food. Dogs are welcome in a specific area in the bar and also in the rooms providing they are well behaved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Three Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Kings Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The 3 Kings
The Three Kings Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing