We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cadogan Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cadogan Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stumbled across the Cadogan Arms and popped in for lunch. Although we hadn't booked a table it was a busy Sunday and we were seated immediately. Have visited since and again were met with friendly, polite staff and incredibly good quality food. 3 course meal inc. one round of drinks costs about £30 a head, but it seems to be locally sourced and freshly cooked. Excellent value for money and well worth a visit. The staff and chefs should be proud as it's not a combination that is found very often any more! Must add that I haven't stayed here but wouldn't hesitate recommended it going on what I've seen so far.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    62
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
36
48
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Has gone down hill from previous visits. Staff were functional but didn't seem to be interested in the customer. Felt like we were a bit of an inconvenience. Food tasty though and good quality but not as good as previous visits.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harryslunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely ambience, candles, music, staff excellent, food amazing I had chicken and partner had a burger and not a bad price for a special occasion! I especially liked the 'while you wait' selection. I have never had crackling like it - all delicious! Don't know why there are bad reviews on here we had a perfect night - thank you cadogan arms

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Clean, well appointed, excellent restaurant, dinner and breakfast both very good. Good value for the area. My sat nav couldn't find it though so use map, although actually in an easy location!

Cannot find 200 characters, said enough already, silly trip adviser rule to allow posting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon4188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The food has gone down hill, starter was very poor, didn't bother to even do a check back on main course, only as I looked at the receipt for the food did I realise they had overcharged me. Hotel room was cold, asked for heating to be put back on, couldn't get it to work at first, had to come to the room twice. No spoons in the rooms for the tea and coffee. An incredibly disappointing stay, food, service and whole experience was VERY POOR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

What a little gem this is!!! I feel guilty about letting others know what a great find this is, I would love to keep it as my own private home. From the first moment I arrived I was well greeted and made to feel at home. My room was well furnished in a contemporary style, clean and comfortable, (although the lack of a shaver socket in the bathroom was a little annoying) and I had read about the fresh ground coffee before booking. What a great touch, along with the home made biscuits and complementry bottled waters. These are the style points that count for the 4 stars, as well as clean,stylish toilets with proper hand towels in the bar area. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, imaginative (you MUST try the venison scotch eggs) and decent generous portion sizes, with realistic prices for such top grub. A good and varied wine list to match, and I was in heaven. As a frequent business traveller (100+ nights per year) I have stayed in many establishments, but I was blown away by The Cadogan. Top 10 in my 'lil black book. A special thanks to Nicole and Harriet, two of the most delightful young women I have met on my travels, for making my 4 nights feel so much like home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyTheLandyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This Hotel has but a few rooms, sadly that’s the drawback, as when I want to stay they are nearly always fully occupied. The food is fantastic in the nice low key dining area, I have stayed on numerous occasions and each time the service has been excellent.

I travel a lot for my job and see a great many hotels during the year, If they were all up the standard as the Cadogan Arms I would be a very happy bunny

Room Tip: Book Early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury St. Edmunds hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cadogan Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cadogan Arms

Property: The Cadogan Arms
Address: The Street | Ingham, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 1NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cadogan Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that not everyone wants the same thing. You might want a pint of local real ale at the bar… A bottle of wine and a grazing board on the sofas… A meal in the dining room… A really good coffee with a read of the paper… To rest your head the night before an important business meeting… A relaxing weekend break only 4 miles from Bury St Edmunds… Take your pick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cadogan Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cadogan Arms Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
The Cadogan Arms Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing