We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sincerly great resteraunt”
Review of Regatta Restaurant

Regatta Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Sincerly great resteraunt”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is with out a dought a excellent fish resteraunt with fish from the longshore man in the town, and locally sourced meat, it has excellent staff and a great atmosphere a very memerable place to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roaminggeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    178
    41
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“central restaurant”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

delicious food well presented and friendly, helpful staff. Very good value. Tables well spaced so you do not overhear conversations or feel you are being overheard!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank curiousSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Game Night 2012”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What can I say? Food was marvellous yet again! We have been to this annual gourmet dinner for 10 times out of the last 11 years and it has never disappointed. Lovely touch is the chef comes round at the end of the evening and asks your opinion of the food. All wine included with meal, so by the end of the night it can be hard to provide intelligent conversation at the end. Well worth the price!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ponylady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Owner at Regatta Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review,I think I know who you are Ponylady49. very glad we lived up to your expectations, and a Regatta record breaker to boot 10 game Gourmets out of 11.
have a great year and see you in 2013 hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable Dinner”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a really enjoyable Sunday evening dinner here in early November. It was a little quiet, being out of season and a Sunday but the service was very good and the food excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Two perfect main courses”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a lovely meal here on a very quiet Tuesday November evening. Service was good and, as we didn’t have wifi at the accommodation where we were staying, we made good use of the free service offered by the restaurant.

I had mussels to start which were some of the biggest mussels I have ever eaten. They were delicious but were not piping hot when brought to the table. I then had the roast skate which was devine!! Beautifully fresh and cooked to perfection. My husband had gravlax (or gravad lax) to start which he wasn’t overly impressed with but then went on to have the rack of lamb special which he said was superb!!

Regatta is a lovely restaurant and the staff, although it was very, very quiet, were attentive and very friendly. We will certainly return when in Aldeburgh next time.

Oh, and the free fudge at the end of the meal was lovely!!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FarquiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regatta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Regatta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing