We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laurel House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel House
Ranked #8 of 18 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Windhoek
2 reviews
“Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We found the accommodation and all the facilities wonderful. We had a lovely room at the back of the house and my parents stayed in the front room. The rooms were beautifully decorated- simple and elegant. The neighbourhood was quiet and we had a wonderful time enjoying the town. The beach and main street really is just a short walk away. Breakfast was a lovely selection of fresh fruit, cereals, home baked croissants and some of the best cold meat cuts I've ever had. (Coming from a meat eating country that says a lot) It was overall great value for money.

Room Tip: The back room is very private and quiet. If travelling with a family it should not matter whether yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Surely holidays do not come much better than this. Laurel House is probably the most beautifully furbished house we have ever stayed in, the hosts are fantastically accommodating and extremely knowledgeable on the entire Anglia coast. We had some wonderful days in a great area and will certainly try to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieVogts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

A quiet back-street in Aldeburgh doesn't sound promising - but it IS quiet and yet only 2 minutes walk from the high street and thus perfectly located. There are two rooms for guests, each with a private bathroom - and we had the double room looking over the lovely back garden. Why not make en-suite bathroom facilities? Why bother when the rooms are generous and the whole place uncluttered, and bathrobes are supplied? And in any case en-suite facilities have well-known problems.

The house is peacefully decorated, bright, and very calming - yet it is a family home with small children. Remarkable.

The house is warm and so is the hospitality. The breakfast is wonderful. As someone who dislikes duvets I am resigned to using the cover alone as a sheet in hotels and B&Bs - perhaps the supply of an optional/alternative top sheet would be helpful. But that is really being picky. The overall impression is that Cristina and Damian work hard to make the place effortlessly relaxing. And the photos on their web-page are good images of the rooms and convey the bright/airy feel of the place (there has been some fresh decoration even since those photos were taken!).

Delightful. If you need a place in Aldeburgh then don't look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william_edmondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

Two rooms, each with own provate bathroom next door, to rent in a beautiful house, just a few minutes' walk away from the town centre. We had the double room (the other is a twin) and it was delight to wake up each morning to a delightful view in a crisply decorated white room. The HUGE bathroom next door was a delight. The continental breakfast was a joy. Cristina and Damian are perfect hosts - engaging and charming, but neither is remotely "in your face". Would return again and again. The nicest B&B I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

We stayed at the Laurel House for 3 nights in early April whilst attending a friends wedding celebrations at Leiston Abbey and Thorpeness. I came across the Laurel House via google when looking for B&Bs and thought it looked like our kind of place.

The photos on their website are accurate - we had the double room - and it is a beautiful, clean, airy room with a massive private bathroom (consisting of a bath and a shower). Next door's garden has an abundance of wild life - squirrels and birds mainly - which were pleasant to watch whilst sitting with a cup of tea. There is a bottle of mineral water, biscuits, a kettle and a small fridge with a pint of milk in it provided in the room. Other amenities include a hair dryer, and an ironing board and iron are available on request.

The continental breakfast is served in the family kitchen at a big table between 8am and 9am. There is no shortage of food available, and breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit, warmed bread, croissants and scones, and a selection of cheese and cold meats. Plenty to keep us going for quite a while.

It is only a short walk from the house to the bars, cafes and restaurants in Aldeburgh, and of course the sea front. Parking is in the road, but we had no problem finding a space at any point during our stay.

Only two minor criticisms:
1) The hot water seemed to run out midway through my shower on the first day. We didn't have a problem at any other point though.
2) Given that the bathroom is private to the room we had, we couldn't quite work out why it hadn't been made ensuite, or at least been given an ensuite entrance. Walking a few steps down the hallway isn't a major inconvenience however.

Payment is by cheque or cash. No cards accepted.

We hope to stay there again next time we're in the area.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneInBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.1 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
13.2 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel House

Property: Laurel House
Address: 23 Lee Road, Aldeburgh, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Laurel House Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing