We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Aldeburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The White Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The White Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Aldeburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just back from a 3 day stay at our favourite hotel in East Anglia. We ate in the restaurant on 2 nights and the quality of the food and cooking is still excellent, if not better than on our last visit. Congratulations to the new chef. All the restaurant staff were as attentive as ever and help create the relaxing and informal atmosphere.
Will return next year by which time I hope the hotel has had a little spruce up outside.....my only grumble.

Room Tip: A sea view is obviously a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Brian
Many thanks for your kind comments and great praise! I am pleased to read you enjoyed our new Head Chef, Ben Hegarty’s delicious menu. We are hoping to have the outside re-done soon but as you can imagine such a large building takes time.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    396
    109
    25
    8
See reviews for
156
778
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hotel on beach opposite fishing huts . Couldn't be closer to the beach so location great. We stayed for three days with our diabetic dog and the restaurant staff looked after the dogs insulin during our stay. The staff were all very helpful attentive and helped us with all our needs, especially Jamie who helped us in the middle of the night when the dog needed to go out. We wish to thank all the staff that helped during our stay. The breakfast s are very good with a good choice on the menu and able to have as much or whatever you want.
The White Lion is an old building and although there is a lift you do need to go up and down some steps to access some rooms ,also the shower is located over the bath so this could be difficult if you have any difficulties in walking. All these things were explained on a courtesy call as well as the routine for looking after the dogs insulin.
Many thanks to all those who looked after us. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 18 some noise for air conditioning occasionally. Step into bathroom. Window does not open wide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Lynn
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to share you feedback with us all. I am pleased you enjoy our unique location overlooking the fish huts on the beach and I will pass my thanks onto Jamie and the team for looking after your dog so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and do not hesitate to ask us more questions about the room options.
Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Went for dinner last night. Warm welcome, nice table with view of the sea. Young waitress did forget to order my starter but the restaurant manager apologised immediately and he noticed this error before I had to say anything which was impressive. They soon had it sorted and offered us more bread and oil whilst we waited.The waitress also apologised so what more could they have done. Starter was delicious! Garlic mushrooms and soup for my partner. He had the duck for mains and i had the chicken kiev, both equally tasty. Great service all round. Left with a very full tummy and would highly recommend The White Lion to all. Am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Pippin
I am pleased to read you enjoyed our lovely new menu by Head Chef Ben Hegarty and you felt well look after.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our Club held their Charter Night dinner at the hotel on 26 June. The whole experience was excellent. In particular the service and the food. Well done to everyone who made our evening with you so good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Staff and hotel was excellent. Expensive, however you get what you pay for as referred in title. Very impressive breakfast with the staff being very helpful and friendly. If I was the manager for this hotel I would give my staff a pat on the back for doing a great job. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reece D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a lovely two night break. Sea view, quiet room except for gulls and boats which we love anyway! Windows may need replacing soon though. I think would be draughty in winter. Food good especially the breakfast freshly cooked not a buffet. Staff friendly too. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the White Lion for three nights from 24 June 2014. The Hotel is located close to the sea front and the centre of Aldeburgh is within easy walking distance. From arrival, the service at the hotel was impeccable. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We stayed in Room 5, which had great sea views and was perfect for watching the fishing boats arriving in the early morning. The food at the hotel was extremely good. At various times we ate breakfast, lunch and evening meals at the hotel and was very impressed with every meal. The produce is local, the ingredients fresh and very well cooked and presented. This hotel offers great value for money and wonderful service. We will certainly be returning in the near future. Thank you to all the staff at the White Lion for a truly memorable break on the beautiful Suffolk coast.

Angela and Robert Fox

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F0xyLady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
12.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing