We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot on the front.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spot on the front.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Fantastic situation right on the seafront with many rooms having a view across the sea. We know that some refurbishment of the hotel has been undertaken but in places it still looks a little tired. Our room was at the front and roomy without being large. The room was clean and practical.The service was very good and the food (we stayed half board) was really excellent.
Our only slight worry was the lack of flexibility in the time that we wanted to have dinner.The receptionist was somewhat blunt in her attitude when we ask if there could be some leeway say a quarter of an hour or so. We do understand this reasoning when the hotel is busy but during our stay this was not the case.This was a minor irritation and would not stop us returning to the hotel again. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We think there are better rooms but at a price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    437
    126
    32
    11
See reviews for
175
854
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

With an excellent position on the seafront, easy parking and well appointed rooms, this hotel already satisfies most criteria. However, add the friendly and attentive staff and the really excellent food and you have somewhere in Aldeburgh that you can return to again and again.
We had a seafront double room, which was quiet and very comfortable. Our dog came too and was left a large bone shaped biscuit as a welcome gift, which I thought a lovely touch. Although there was a music show on for one evening of our stay we did not hear a thing from our room (with an open window), which was most impressive.
My only niggle was that the shower was not as powerful as I am used to, however, that is a small detail and is a very personal thing.
Not the cheapest of venues but well worth the cost and having stayed in various hotels in Aldeburgh in the past, The White Lion will be my only choice in the future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the seaview rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

A very nice hotel with friendly, helpful and thoughtful staff. Comfortable, good sized room that was immaculately clean and nicely appointed. Room was well aired before our arrival and heating was very effective. Breakfast service was high quality, plentiful and very enjoyable. Not the cheapest option in the area but great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed over night last weekend, for DBB. Good clean large room, inland facing room. Food was very good and plentiful, staff very pleasant and ran off their feet. Wine rather pricey better off buying bottle than by the glass.
Sea right across the road so nice walk along the front and to the small town.

Room Tip: Ask for seafront room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The White Lion has a great location on the seafront in Aldeburgh. The hotel has been completely refurbished since our last visit and is much better for the refresh. We particularly liked the new bar and restaurant area, where we had drinks and dinner, as well as both breakfasts. On a Saturday evening, advance booking was necessary for the restaurant (we hadn't, so we had fish and chips by the sea instead!). The restaurant is light and spacious and we had an enjoyable meal (Sunday evening). Breakfast is also worthy of mention for being so nice. You can have as much, or as little, as you want, with lots of fresh orange juice and coffee.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and I can't pick fault at all. We opted for an inland room as we were unlikely to spend time looking out the window - much better just to get down onto the beach. Free wifi and Sky sports made my husband happy!

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you want to look at the sea, go for the sea view rooms, but remember there is a high shingle beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Thought the hotel was pretty pricey but I think this is just Aldeburgh as a whole as it is a pretty upmarket place. Anyway, room was comfortable, location was good (bang in the middle of Aldeburgh) and thought breakfast was excellent. Didn't eat dinner or lunch here. Room also had a good selection of Sports Channels which was good as one important match I wanted to catch. Free Wi-Fi (hate hotels that charge you for this).

On a negative - One of the girls in the front desk had no idea how to get to local RSPB reserve Minsmere which is one of the main local attractions: I think hotel staff (wherever you go in the world) should always be able to opine on local tourist hot spots, and at least how to get there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I really enjoyed a recent visit to the White Lion. The staff were helpful and kind and the room comfortable. I booked the restaurant in advance. It was a lovely small break following a stressful week. I would strongly recommend the hotel and will definitely return some day. Anne

Room Tip: Book well in advance and reserve the restuarant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
12.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing