We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value 'Post card offer'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value 'Post card offer'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

For the third year running we took advantage of the 'post card offer' which is a package including afternoon tea, three course evening meal with wins and B&B. There were no restrictions on the menu so you could have steak with no supplements being charged. We upgraded to have a sea view and it was worth it, such a fantastic location.
The afternoon tea was not as good as our previous experience but the home made eclair with popping candy made up for it.
The staff were efficient and friendly as usual, ensuring we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    437
    126
    33
    11
See reviews for
175
855
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Previously stayed about 7 years ago but the hotel has since been refurbished. We had a nice seafacing room which was an upgrade on the 'postcard' offer we booked. The new bistro is very nice and the food and hospitality was very good. Staff were friendly and welcoming and we had a nice relaxing mid-week stay. Extremely good value for the price. We will definietly be back........

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

It's been a good while since i stayed at the White Lion and must complement the hotel on the upgrades. The bedroom was very pleasant with everything you would expect. The restaurant was nice with a good selection of food. The enduring memory of my stay however was watching the sun appear over the sea during breakfast (one advantage to being in Aldeburgh in February). Overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night on the 'Postcard offer'. Lovely hotel ideally situated on the sea front.
Warm welcome as soon as we arrived, easy check in. All staff helpful and friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had a meal inclusive of the offer in the evening and found the menu had an excellent range and food was delicious. Service was a little slow but they did have a few large parties and some waitresses were a little quieter and less efficient than others but overall a lovely meal.
Dining area lovely and they do have a lounge area albeit a little small.
We opted for a sea view room. lovely view over the shingle beach. Rooms spacious and warm and bed comfy. All ammenties needed including fan, hair dryer and iron.
Breakfast lovely, with a wide range to suit all tastes and could order as much as we wanted.
Excellent service, very welcoming. Would definate recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prime84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I booked a table for lunch in the Brasserie as a Birthday treat for my Mother this week. On booking by phone I said in passing that I would like a table by the window with a view of the sea as it was my Mother's Birthday.
The staff couldn't have been more kind and attentive -on arrival they wished her a happy Birthday and offered her a free glass of wine, when it came to the dessert it was presented on a large plate with 'Happy Birthday' inscribed. It all helped to make it a very special occasion and made an 84 year old very happy!!
The 'new look' of the bar and Brasserie is very appealing and tasteful, only one comment - when are the ladies toilets having a makeover?!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoirEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here on a afternoon tea, dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The staff seemed very friendly with the exception of one waitress who was a little offhand - we sat at a window table for our afternoon tea to be told we couldn't sit there as it was booked in 20mins - fair enough but why not put a reserved sign on it? She moved us to nearer the door and bar area to join the Sunday afternoon drinkers which was not really quite the same. Afternoon tea was ok but nothing to write home about - 3 small sandwiches, a scone and a chocolate brownie, presented with jam and cream in plastic pots not on a cake stand.
The room was nice and clean, quiet and comfortable. Not sure why some hotels insist on fitting a bath when there isn't room for one. Personally I'd prefer a nice big proper shower, but otherwise it was all ok.
Dinner was a little disappointing but perfectly edible. Both our main courses appeared to be somewhat over seasoned, with the beef in mine being a bit rubbery. On the other hand the vegetables were good, as was the starter. Sweets were a bit dull. We tried to change the house wine included on our deal for another at the same price but were told this was impossible, which seemed a little odd.
Breakfast looked better than it tasted but was, again, perfectly edible, just not very inspiring.
All in all its not too bad, and is in a good location right near the (shingle) beach. I hate to think what the parking is like on a Sunday afternoon in the summer as the hotel has very little of its own.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princewobblebottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was our first stay in Aldeburgh and this hotel made it a complete success.The service is excelleent ........ Food first class and a well varied menu.... The location is superb .......... Finally it is outsranding value for the money you pay ......... A must to stay if you visit Aldeburgh

Room Tip: You must go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing