We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking away the wife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taking away the wife”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Brings a smile to my face when ever I arrive at the white lion. Had lunch, dinner and breakfast, and without hesitation, the staff and the quality of the food are fantastic! They were also able to accommodate my wife's wheat allergy.
Well done them.

Room Tip: Room 26 is a corner room and you get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeke2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    457
    134
    35
    11
See reviews for
185
901
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The White Lion over the weekend of Burns night. No waffling the Hotel is great, staff are very polite and helpful, food was superb, spotless rooms. And to top it all a great location and the management are always at hand ensuring everything is to your liking. Looking forward to visiting later in the year.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunaCatcher_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is the 5 year running we have stayed at The White Lion and every year it just get's better. The staff are superb and we always try to get a room with a sea view , really worth doing so. The food is superb the rooms are spot on and the lovely warm welcome you get upon arrival is really nice. Going back next year for our 39th Anniversary .

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Arrived at The White Lion expecting a very nice hotel. What we didn't know was just how special it was going to be. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff (just attentive enough) and the food was exceptional. The afternoon tea was delicious and the breakfast in the morning was an edible work of art, but the dinner exceeded all expectations. It was served with a fine bottle of Bordeaux and was simply out of this world. All of this and an overnight stay for £149? Impossible - no just The White Lion, showing how to give value for money without compromising on quality. Hoping to return soon...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We arrived on 23.1.14 and were thoroughly pleased with the welcome from the receptionist. We paid extra for a sea view and it was worth it. The staff were helpful, courteous, and professional. We had afternoon tea - a delight with a huge teapot and delicious sandwiches and cakes.

We had an evening meal twice in the restaurant. The food and service was top class and the food cooked to perfection.

The breakfast could not be faulted, lots to choose from and it was good to see that toast was made to order (a lot of hotels you are expected to make the toast yourself)!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we will definitely stay at the white Lion again.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view - it's worth the extra money. Huge windows and lots to look out at. great w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Have just returned from a 3-day midweek stay at Aldeburgh's finest. As always the hospitality all round was superb. The rain, wind and cold outside just emphasised the warm and cosy feel and atmosphere in the hotel. This trip we feel that the chefs really provided one notch above their usual high standard of cooking and presention at every meal time. We will be back.

Room Tip: Sea view well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We arrived on a windswept January evening at 11.30pm with no booking and were very glad to get a room. The room itself was fairly small but very warm and comfortable. I imagine their rooms with a sea view are more special than the room we had, but considering our last minute arrival we were pleased with it.

What was memorable was the breakfast! A lovely selection and really nicely cooked. All the staff were very attentive and we were made to feel very welcome. I would recommend this hotel and would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
653 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
775 reviews
12.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing