We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable worth it for sea view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brudenell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable worth it for sea view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The rooms are good. We've been there a dozen times but you have to get a sea view room for the experience. Be selective about your dates and try and get a deal if you can as it's not cheap. However, waking up before dawn and seeing the lights of the fishing boats just before the sun comes up is magical. Very professonal staff. Good food in evening but on last trip they seem to be skimping on the amount/quality of the breakfast - they need to addess this as what you need before a long walk is a hearty fry-up! (well, I do). Worth the stay but keep your eye on the value.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuniklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    253
    81
    12
    7
See reviews for
143
564
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel,right on the front,dining room looks out on the beach and sea,staff are excellent as well as the food,the rooms are spacious, had a sea view room,will be going back






room,will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We were staying two minutes away so visited for brunch and dinner. The hotel is very attractive and right on the beach with fabulous views. The service was excellent and we were made so welcome and treated as valued guests. The food was excellent and well presented. The menu is sea food based, with lots of interesting and different items. There's enough choice for non fish eaters too. I would love to stay there in the future.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mags1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
90 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location, right on the seafront, is very attractive. Our initial impression was coloured by us being allocated a tiny rear-facing room and by the seeming inability of front desk staff to handle our request for a more suitable room. Once this was sorted out all went well. There are pleasant lounges. Rooms are attractively decorated. Bathroom was roomy with shower intelligence test the usual trial. Breakfasts were good as was lunch, though while service was cheerful and willing it was sometimes very erratic eg our appetiser arrived after our main course and we had to wait interminably for coffee on another occasion.

Complimentary wifi does not in practice reach all rooms - we had to use public areas.

Room Tip: Make sure room is big enough if there are two of you with luggage. Some rooms very small. Also ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here on a sunny winter's day in a superior room and it was worth it with views overlooking the sea. The room was bright and spacious with a 'sit out' area. The location really is very special. In the evening we ate in the restaurant which was good but not outstanding and really did not seem to match up to the quality of the hotel overall. The breakfast was good. We would commend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet break away from the general hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: Chose a seaview room - worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Vjkm
Many thanks for your feedback and kind comments. I am sorry to read you didn’t feel the food lived up to our hotel, the Head Chef, James, is very experience and works extremely hard to maintain our two rosette award restaurant standard. I hope we can do better on your next visit
Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Room top notch.
Food excellent.
Restaurant service - something obviously wrong while we were there? Nobody seemingly in charge and food and drinks took an age to come at both breakfast and dinner.
Car parking space - very good for busy town.
Stairs labyrinthine if you can find them.

Room Tip: Sea view best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dixiegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Dixiegrand

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. Sorry that you felt the service was slow, we always have a manager on duty so I hope this will be more seamless on your next visit.
We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had a very relaxing time at this super hotel. Staff very helpful and rooms in very good order - the breakfast is superb and I would recommend to anybody looking for a weekend break. This is defintely our favourite place to come for a weekend away!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Martin

Many thanks for leaving you feedback, I am pleased you had a relaxing time at the hotel. I will pass your kind comments onto the team
We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regard
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing