We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brudenell disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kelvedon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brudenell disappointment”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Having had two previous weekend stays here and on both occasions been very satisfied, my husband and I were somewhat surprised to find our most recent visit not up to the usual standard. I booked our weekend six months in advance and as usual was asked what time we'd like our dinner reservation. I requested 7.30pm and this was confirmed on the e.mail. However, on arrival we discovered we'd been booked in much later than that and despite me showing the confirmation, I was told it had been fully booked for 7.30pm! Really? Six months ago? So why hadn't we been told so at the time of booking? The following night we went down to dinner at our revised time to find we should have been there an hour earlier but no one had thought to communicate this further change to us iether! Our special (and not cheap!) weekend package also included 'Afternoon tea', as had our 'Valentine' weekend back in Feb. We'd had sandwiches, scones and mini cakes/desserts. Delicious. So, imagine our surprise when we received a much smaller 'Cream tea', and as lovely as this was, a 'Cream tea' is not the same as 'Afternoon tea'! When I politely asked reception what constituted 'Afternoon tea', I was told by the same very curt gentleman who'd dealt with the dinner reservations, that our 'package' included only a 'Cream tea' despite us paying the equivalent amount as our previous visit. Apparently, there are now three 'Afternoon tea' options, so check out exactly what you're getting for your money.
Our room was warm, clean and comfy and most other staff were helpful and accommodating.
This is still a lovely place to stay, but make sure if you book well in advance, that nothing has changed before your arrival date, as communication regarding these kind of changes certainly need improving.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are beautiful though the sea is very close and if you're a light sleeper. the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments I am sorry to hear that you had problems with your booking times it seems that we did not have any record of you requesting a time when you booked the room and I apologise that this spoilt your stay. The package which you booked on for this visit is a little different to the one which you stayed on in February it does include a cream tea and not an afternoon tea as the romance package does include. I am unsure why you were unaware of this as it is stated on all of the literature regarding the deal, however had you asked at the time I am sure we would have upgraded you to a full tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    290
    94
    14
    7
See reviews for
161
646
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for one night D,B &B. We booked one of the deluxe sea view rooms, and it was wonderful.
Large room, with lovely bay window overlooking the beach and sea, fabulous view to wake up to!
It was clean, warm and had everything we needed. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with emphasis on local good quality produce. Service was very good, staff friendly & helpful. All in all I would highly recommend a stay at the Brudenell, we intend to return, but only if we can book the deluxe room, its worth paying the extra for! If I had to find anything negative to say it would be not to bother ordering the chocolates in your room on arrival. I ordered champagne and chocolates for my husbands birthday, chocolates were six lindt lindor truffles in cellophane bag, I was hoping for something a bit more special but saying that we did enjoy them! Champagne was lovely!

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and book the large deluxe sea view room, sit in the armchair in the bay window for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DippyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback and very positive comments about your stay. It is great to hear that the team looked after you well. I will look into your comments regarding the chocolates they are actually Hotel Chocolat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We took advantage of a Sunday night offer for 2 with D,B&B. We could not fault the hotel. The Aldeburgh room, without sea view, was large and with full facilities. The hotel throughout was clean and bright and the staff were polite and helpful. Both breakfast, with full choice, and extensive evening meal menu were delicious, hot and well presented. Afternoon cream tea was a meal in itself so beware.

Room Tip: No sea view is not a problem in the winter. Great views from the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I t is really pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here with us and particularly that you felt that the team were helpful and polite. I hope that you return soon to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Modern hotel situated on sea front overlooking beach.Front bedrooms have unrestricted sea views.Very clean.
Light and airy bedrooms with large double glazed windows.
Restaurant with sea views serving an excellent breakfast with a large choice of food.
Bar open most of the day.Bar meals available with good choice.
Good service from staff.Very friendly.
Note restaurant very popular with non staying customers popping in and out.
Lounge seating area very limited in space to say size of hotel.
Car parking at a premium.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view executive rooms.Plenty of room with separate seating area and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your summary of your visit. Glad to see that everything seemed to have been positive for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants.uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

we stayed overnight, from checkin the staff are so helpful and friendly. service is excellent,nothing too much trouble. we were luckly enough to be upgraded to a superior sea view. i think it would be worth the money. wonderful views. comfy bed, slept well, sounds of the sea with the window open.
very good dinner even on the comedy night.
will be going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your review I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything. I hope that you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We love staying at this hotel! You are never disappointed. Great happy staff, a lovely warm atmosphere. We chose to dine at the hotel for the first time...reputation excellent. Exquisite food, thanks chef! Portions on the large side so felt bad we couldn't send empty plates back to the kitchen. What we would recommend would be a visit to the bar for superb cocktails made by bar manager Josh! Thanks to you all for spoiling us!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
This is all lovely to hear. Chef and Josh both very much enjoyed your kind words. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a superb time at the Brudenell Hotel. Everyone there made us feel so welcome and the hotel is fantastic. They made my wife’s special birthday very special indeed and we loved our time there.

We had a superior sea view room which was worth every penny. Having the chance to go to sleep with the sea crashing on the shore outside was brilliant. The reception staff in particular were very helpful and the bar manager was great.

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view, a little more money but you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. I am really pleased to hear that the team helped to make this special occasion with you. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.9 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing