We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect East Coast venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Perfect East Coast venue”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is the second visit to this hotel in a year and the quality has been maintained. Clean, comfortable and with superb sea views. The staff are helpful and give you a warm welcome to this boutique hotel which has quite good public spaces and well-designed rooms that cater for almost every need. As I write this we can hear the roiling sea crashing on the pebble beach. A wonderful calming sound for inlanders such as us. The restaurant serves excellent local food with a small but well balanced menu [sea food is a speciality] and whilst I enjoyed the pork medley my wife devoured the crab with alacrity. We couldn't fault either meal. The raspberry sweet was perhaps a little too sweet and could have done with more of the coulis to make is better balance but that is a small criticism and the attentive waiters ensured the meal was as unhurried as we wanted. Breakfasts are excellent too. Yes, it quite expensive compared to similar hotels in other parts of the country but Aldeburgh is a very special town (in beautiful county) with a unique atmosphere and the extra impact of the all-pervading sea more than compensates. Car parking can be difficult if the hotel is full and the ability to reverse in small streets is an advantage. Recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a sea view - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your open and honest review we are pleased that you had a really enjoyable stay. we take on board the constructive comments that you have made about one or two improvements we could make thank you. thank you also for sharing your pictures of your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    296
    97
    14
    7
See reviews for
164
656
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A modern, clean hotel where you are really made to feel like a guest. The hotel is bang on the seafront so you can go to sleep with your window open and hear the waves on the beach. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant very good. Just to note there is no gym, but of course you could go for a good walk instead. Would recommend a visit

Room Tip: If going for a sea facing room - ask for one with the larger bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks very much for your review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely hotel right on the seafront. Our deluxe room had a fabulous view of the sea, so close you could hear the waves crashing onto the beach. The room was comfortably furnished, nicely decorated with a large comfy bed. Smart bathroom too with a large separate shower. It all looked as if it had been recently decorated.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as there are so many other eating options in Aldeburgh, but the menu looked nice and in the summer I'm sure it's very pleasant enjoying dinner with the lovely seaview.

Parking was a bit tricky, even in November. Can't imagine where you park in the summer when there are lots of tourists.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a room with a seaview, whatever the time if year. You can sit in the lovely warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therealhotelinspector, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Brudenell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have visited the Brudenell a number of times and the hotel never disappoints. Friendly service,excellent room and great food, what more could you ask for, whilst not the cheapest of hotels it certainly worth every penny.

Room Tip: Whilst a little more expensive I would recommend a sea view room everything, room 307 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to share your thoughts. All our rooms are different in their own way and the third floor benefits from great views of the sea and also the river at the back in our Aldeburgh rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a lovely hotel! From the moment we arrived everything was efficient, friendly and well appointed. We were upgraded to a sea view room as there was some extra availability, enjoyed tea in the lounge in the afternoon and a meal in the restaurant (which I have reviewed separately). I can understand why other reviewers wouldn't pay for a sea view room in winter, but there's something quite beautiful about the sea crashing around in the rain, and if you are lucky enough for it to be sunny then you get the benefit of watching the sun rise through the cleverly designed blinds, which offer you a silhouette of the sea through their gauzy fabric. Just lovely.

Breakfast (included in price of room) was delicious, with lots of choice.

The downside is the parking, which has the potential to be tricky in high season (the tiny car park won't hold everyone) but in October we were fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechintzfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Nice to hear such positive comments from you about your experiences, I agree seeing the sea crashing on the shore in the winter months can be epic! thank you for taking the time to post a review or two!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We came back to the Brudenell after a lovely visit in 2012. We decided to upgrade to a sea view room, and although pricey, it was well worth it. Once you get over the quirky parking arrangements, this is great place to stay.

Very good food, and having breakfast on the beach terrace was a real treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Activefamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for coming back to us again this year and for posting this nice review of your visit it is very much appreciated that you enjoy the hotel and continue to return. See you again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Brudenell. We decided not to book a seaview room because we thought the rate was quite expensive - so the view of the houses in the street behind the hotel wasn't anything special but we knew that would be the case. The reception was warm and friendly, so a good start. We parked in the narrow parking spaces nearby.
Our room was fine - not very big, but clean and reasonably smart with a comfortable bed. The decor of the hotel was ok - ground floor public areas modern and welcoming although it didn't have the wow factor that some reviews attribute to it - it is all personal taste but the nautical wallpaper in the corridors wouldn't have looked out of place in a six year old boy's bedroom. Breakfast was well served by friendly and helpful wait staff and it was pleasant to watch the sea from the bright sunny restaurant.
However, we had an irritating level of service on our first evening. When I booked on the hotel's website there was the option to to order a bottle of prosecco for the room, and because we were going to an evening concert I thought that it would be nice to come back to a late evening drink. The ordered bottle, without glasses, was left in the room, unchilled, when we arrived - who drinks warm fizz? The lady on reception was apologetic and said she would get the bar staff to put the bottle on ice mid-evening so it would be cold when we got back. On our return, nothing had changed, and I ended up going back downstairs, waiting while the same lady called through to the bar and told them the problem. Eventually I went into the bar to get a chilled bottle, and glasses, from the fairly indifferent bar staff.
I find that I have written the sort of review that seems really weird, where someone just obsesses about one thing, and clearly the hotel is very popular and well-regarded, and we had a very relaxing break in and around Aldeburgh. But a hotel seeking to charge these prices needs to get it right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank treacleonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Sounds frustrating, I really apologise for this having happened. No matter how big or small the problem please do always share your experiences with our management team and we will do our best to deal with them right there and then. This is not a problem that I have heard of happening before and on investigation it seems to be an honest error. I have discussed this with the team and have changed the approach on how we deliver this to the rooms so this should not happen again. I am sorry that this has marred what otherwise seemed to have been a good stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
8.9 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing