We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brudenell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tirah Guest House(Aldringham)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
$197
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toll House(Aldeburgh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eaton House B&B(Aldeburgh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveler rating
639
324
110
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
639
324
110
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewseafoodsound of the waveslovely hotelsuffolk breakfastsuperior roomthird floorsea frontoverlooking the beachevening mealnight breakbiscuitsfirst classshort breakmain courselounge areaattentive staff
Filter
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our weekend break here. Aldeburgh is really quite old fashioned (again, in a good way) but the Brudenell has been decorated in a very contemporary style and we were all seriously impressed. The staff were excellent - without exception, every single one was pleasant, friendly, and efficient. Great for dog owners too. The food in the restaurant was really good - not sophisticated - but perfectly cooked and delicious, and very good value. It was a breathtakingly cold and windy January day, and as a result the huge glass window did make the dining room a little chilly - maybe they need some curtains that close for these rare occasions. Otherwise, really recmmended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the team we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our 2nd visit, discounted so made it affordable. Lovely room overlooking the sea, the house keeping staff do an excellent job. Restaurant absolutly lovely especially if on the £10.00 deal, the food is lovely very well thought out meals. Had venison for the 1st time very good.Perfect location for walking, you dont need the car once you are at the hotel. All staff very friendly could not find any fault. Please dont all go at once though leave room for us!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, very peacefull listning to thwe waves.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanettesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and our room was excellent with great facilities and stunning sea views. The staff are really friendly and helpful and everything is of the high standard expected of a four star hotel. My only criticism is that the food within the restuarant could do better. It is good but not excellent. Breakfast is certainly of a high standard with a good choice, however I feel that the the restuarant's evening menu could not only vary which appeared to be the same as the last time we visited but the standard needs to be improved and be more imaginative.

Room Tip: A sea view is essential to get the best from this hotel and its stunning location.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LInda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thanks for your review. Chef and I are a little confused as to what you mean in your comments about the menu. We have a large menu which is the same for lunch and dinner that changes very often. The menu has a structure to it and a backbone of regular favourite dishes that do not change this is deliberate as whilst we want to give our guests a good choice we are also aware that there are some dishes that become part of a restaurants identity that gain a following. Fish is always going to feature highly on the menu, seasonal dishes are always there but change regularly and we always have dishes that are on our specials that change on a daily basis. Please do contact us to clarify we would appreciate your clarification.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel years ago - when it was adequate but pretty tired. What it might have lacked in amenities it makes up for on location, overloking the sea and on the edge of lovely Aldeburgh town. Terrific location for exploring the big open skies of Suffolk. However the recent renovation has made the rooms fantastic - we had a lovely sea view in a really well put together room. The group that own this small chain of hotels have an excellent design sense - not over fussy but very comfortable. The hotel is being renovated in sections I believe. Reception is being left to last but the guest rooms and dining room are really well done. Once again the staff are pretty good - the woman who runs the restaurant is very good - the Eastern European waiting staff do need a bit more training on what they are serving. The kitchen knows what it's doing - we had excellent venison... Looked fantastic on the plate and tasted even better with every part of the dish perfectly judged. It's not gourmet but a couple of steps up from brasserie style.. Great value.. A wonderful Coq au Vin on our first night for £10 was fantastic value...

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a sea view and the rooms on teh second floor are bigger.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thanks for your comments, we are always striving to improve the hotel. The food at the Brudenell is not aimed at the fine dining market but rather Good quality modern British coastally influenced menus with a no fuss but caring service style. it sounds like you have a good handle on it! thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Returned again to this great restuarant. Had stable right by the huge glass wall overlooking the shingle beach and beautiful sea
Watched a family of seals swimming just of the beach.

The lunch menu was good and the food beautifully served. Excellent value for money
Asked the chef to add something to a starter and it was done beautifully, at no extra charge.

My wife made a comment about the ban offer pie, and the chef came out and asked her how she would like it in future. He was very professional and really cared.

Thoroughly recommend this as one of the best restaurants in Aldeburgh.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Clive U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. Chef is very approachable and loves feedback it gives him a chance to adapt to meet peoples tastes. The team also enjoy coming out and talking to people they really are new breed of chefs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews