We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return...”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My other half and I stayed for two nights, arriving on a freezing October Friday night and found the only thing warmer than the hotel itself was the welcome we received from the lovely staff. Our room was immaculate and had a lovely bay window with a gorgeous panoramic view of the sea and one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. (Even given the seal-of-approval by the OH, who is over 6'4" and finds most hotel beds a little on the 'short' side!)
The food was absolutely top notch - something as simple as a burger transformed into a taste sensation! Every mouthwatering morsel was cooked to perfection and the service was efficient and friendly. We had afternoon tea on the second day, which was equally delicious - the chocolate brownie proving particularly popular...
Ideally located on the seafront, close to the shops for a browse and the beach for a refreshing walk, I cannot recommend The Brudenell highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for your review sounds as if you had a great time and I am pleased to see you are looking to return as soon as you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    290
    94
    14
    7
See reviews for
161
646
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our third trip to the Brudenell Hotel and once again had a wonderful time. The room was at the front and was very quiet and relaxing. The dinner in the restaurant at night was superb, the quality second to none. Would definately recommend. The parking not a problem as you can park at the front at the hotel which is adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds as if you very much enjoy the hotel and i would like to thank you for your kind comments. You are right there are many other places to park around the hotel and also at this end of the town in Aldeburgh as well as at the sea wall end. See you for your fourth visit at some time soon i hope and thanks once again for choosing The Brudenell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Bru. We were thoroughly impressed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and our rooms were lovely, bright and cheerful. Food was delicious with an excellent range for our slightly fussy children and staff were very happy to adapt.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJM656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you well. Thanks for your review and perhaps we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we had a family wedding to attend. On arrival we found it extremely difficult to find somewhere to park. We had a room on the 3rd floor which was facing the sea which was fine although I thought the room was small. We ordered room service for breakfast which me and my husband thought was extremely poor for the star rating it was. Cold cooked breakfast,cold soggy toast with no butter!!! The breakfast also was worse on the Sunday morning,to be given an excuse that it had been a busy breakfast. Although we had a great family weekend,we felt that the hotel was very 'average'.when paying £180 per night we didn't get much for our money at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and I apologise if it did not meet your expectations. Should you wish to discuss this experience further please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel 01728 452071.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Accommodation: excellent overall - lovely bathrooms
Wifi: works but I struggled to get email access
Restaurant: suberb kitchen proping up a less than confident service
Parking: spaces but tricky
Bar: slow off the mark: Overall a fun short-stay

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ponchieandchoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, both good and bad experiences when shared with us are most helpful and rest assured we take these comments and work to ensure that the experiences are improved upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times over the years. We booked this on the internet as a last minute break as we were going to a Birthday Party in the local area so wanted somewhere to stay overnight. The hotel is lovely, very clean, fantastic views and friendly staff. However, we booked on the internet, we selected two adults and one child. It came up with the various room types, some which were unavailable as they were booked up. We booked a double room which was an option for three people. I then had an e-mail from hotel receptopn to say all was fine with the booking. We then had a phone call a couple of days before to say we couldn't really fit in the double and that they will move us to a bigger room but it's next to the lift. My husband accepted this but I wasn't in when they rang. When we arrived, it was a twin room which the beds pushed together (which was fine) and a sofa bed for my daughter. However it was the lift that ruined my stay, when we arrived the hotel was quiet so there wasn't alot of 'activity' with the lift but as the day went on and it got to the evening the lift didn't stop, you could hear it coming up the lift shaft and then the door opening and people the getting out. I had a bath that evening and it was worse in the bathroom. However it went on all evening and when I fell asleep around 11pm and woke again at 2am it continued until 3.30am. I have to say my daughter and husband weren't affected by it as much. It wasn't just the lift but the other guests standing outside the room staying their goodbyes and goodnights as they were leaving each other by the lift. I really think they need to improve their internet booking system to make it not an option for a double if you select 2 adults and a child. If we had said 'no' to the bigger but noisy room then I don't know what they would have done. Another guest even stopped me when we were leaving our room and said 'can you hear the lift in there?'. To be honest I wouldn't return to the hotel now but I would go back just for the restuarant as it's fantastic, beautiful food especially the fish/seafood and very good service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Many thanks for your review and thanks for your feedback we will look into the booking engine to see if we can make this clearer on the site. The reason it does not discount the double rooms as an option is that it currently considers that you could book more than one to cover your needs. it does however clearly state that the room is only suitable for two persons. Sorry to hear that you felt you would not return to stay in the hotel this is a shame and i am sorry to hear that you feel this to be the case particularly as this is easy to overcome if you want to choose another room. I do look forward to hosting you in the restaurant in the future and am glad you enjoyed your experience there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a great room overlooking the beach. It was a little pricey for a delux room but worth it for us. Very clean hotel with all mod cons and decor. The restaurant was lovely and all staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: our room was a little close to the lift and so we did get a bit of noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyMax1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Glad to hear of your experience and thank you for sharing it with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.9 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing