We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Lookout was a excellent place to stay with...”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunrise at Breakfast !  open the French doors, breathe the air and enjoy the wonderful views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at Breakfast !  open the French doors, breathe the air and enjoy the wonderful views
A private area in the small courtyard to catch the morning sunshine Open plan living is great for all the family and friends
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Sunrise at Breakfast !  open the French doors, breathe the air and enjoy the wonderful views
A private area in the small courtyard to catch the morning sunshine
Open plan living is great for all the family and friends
Superb 360 degree views from all the windows on the top floor
Fully equipped kitchen, all the utensils you will need,  and all in tip top condition !
Sunrise at Breakfast !  open the French doors, breathe the air and enjoy the wonderful views
Spacious comfortable lounge area, TV, DVD, Free Wi Fi, selection of games to play and films to watch
Double aspect twin bedroom, light and airy
The smallest twin room has plenty of space and is always the children's favourite!
En Suite shower room
The famous 16c Moot Hall viewed from the French Doors
Aldeburgh Lookout from the Moot Hall on the  Sea Front
Aldeburgh Lookout  fully fitted, DVD, 42 in TV, Hi Fi, BT fast Broadband
Twin Bedroom, Double aspect, large wardrobe, a lovely bright room early mornings
Open Plan Kitchen Dining area with French Doors overlooking the famous 16c Moot Hall and Sea
Entrance to courtyard and a secure place to park your  bikes and buggies
Private entrance to Aldeburgh Lookout and a secure place to park your  bikes and buggies
Looking back to The Lookout from the Beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aldeburgh, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnBennet...
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Lookout was a excellent place to stay with lovely roof top views of the sea”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was an excellent choice to stay. We had two other members of our family staying with us for part of the time and the accommodation worked out very well with bedrooms and shower rooms. The living accommodation was perfect for our party of four people and I am sure it would suit a party of six as there are three bedrooms, two with two single beds in each sharing one bathroom and one with a double bed and en suite, and plenty of hanging space and drawers. The only negative point we found was there isn't an electric shaver point in either bathroom so we couldn't re-charge our electric toothbrushes while there, so taking an adapter is advisable. The kitchen had everything you could want for a stay and the accommodation was furnished very well and beautifully clean. The internet wi-fi connected easily and worked well.

I would say that the top flight of stairs may be a little steep for any people who have problems with such things, but they do have handrails on both sides if anyone is finding them difficult. Also, may not be suitable for families with very young children as there are three flights of stairs.

The Lookout is very close to the beach, just off the sea front, and situated at the end of the High Street, so all amenities are at hand. As the living area is on the top floor you could appreciate the sea views. Lovely restaurants and a mixture of shops within easy walking distance and adequate parking to be found close by for free long stay parking, but not sure how easy it would be during the summer season.

The Lookout wasn't the cheapest rental property available that we found in the area, but we were happy to pay a little bit more for the excellent location and sea view. Overall, highly recommended and we would be happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, well equiped property in good location with sea view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, We are delighted you really enjoyed your stay.
thank you for your kind comments it really is appreciated.
We hope you will come again
Lisa and Bob Smith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyjamas
Canterbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sea views, sound of the waves, restful, attractive retreat”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was a lovely place to stay. Beautifully furnished, spacious,well equipped holiday home. Only a few steps from the seafront and the shops. Peaceful and with wonderful sea views. Suitable for people able to manage stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, spacious comfort
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, We are delighted you really enjoyed your stay.
thank you for your kind comments it really is appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back one day.
Lisa and Bob Smith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bomanda28
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All round top stay!”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My husband and I were joined by our family over the Xmas and New Year period. It was exactly what we were looking for. It had all the necessities for entertaining family. We received a very warm welcome, with a hamper containing useful item for our stay. the apartment was clean and tidy, the owners had even put up Xmas decorations for us!

My husband and I always enjoy Aldeburgh when we visit, but this time was made extra special from staying in such a delightful apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the set up of the apartment
Liked least: I cannot think of anything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, We are delighted you really enjoyed your stay and pleased to know it made your Christmas even more special.
thank you for your kind comments it really is appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back one day.
Lisa and Bob Smith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellig1
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LookOut - Fabulous”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

You cannot go wrong with this accommodation, unless you find climbing stairs difficult. It is very modern and extremely clean, and the view out of the window is fantastic.
The apartment contains all you will need for your stay there, and even has a dishwasher, which was great as we stayed over Christmas with our son and his wife, and her parents, and yes there would have been a lot of washing up!
Went on the beach on Boxing Day with our Irish coffees in very large mugs to watch the yearly swim, well quick dip in the sea.
We have stayed many times in Aldeburgh, usually on Crag Path, but this is definitely as good, and would recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation..
Just across the road from the pub, and close to shops and restaurants, plus take-always if you don't want to cook.
If you are new to area places to visit would be Snape Maltings, Southwold, Woodbridge, Thorpeness, and a RSPB place close by at Minsmere I believe.
This is the sort of place I would love to own.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay over Christmas and saw the New Year in at The Aldeburgh Lookout.
Please do visit us again.
Best Wishes,
Bob and Lisa Smith, Proprietors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALM61
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An enviable view and location in a beautiful apartment!”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful long weekend with our family. A relaxing time in a well equipped and comfortable apartment. I can still picture the sun shimmering on the sea; beautiful.
The welcome pack was very welcome!
Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review our property and for your kind comments and the positive review.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Aldeburgh Lookout.
Please do come back when you can, we are open all year round !
Best Wishes,
Bob and Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBCNotts
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday accommodation!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just come back from a week's family holiday spent at The Lookout. The Lookout is of a very high standard and well equipped (lots of cutlery and crockery and cooking equipment which is exactly what you need for a family of 6). Our party ranged from 11 years to 73 years and we all thought it was fantastic. The view across towards the Moot Hall and the sea is just wonderful. Its location is spot on with the town and beach on your door step. The children enjoyed being able to walk into town as well as racing along the beach. My teenager was up at 5am taking photographs of the sunrise over the sea. Everything has been thought about by the owners Lisa and Bob, down to the complimentary tea and coffee and the wonderful welcome hamper full of delicious treats. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and the positive review.
We are very pleased to hear you clearly enjoyed your stay at The Aldeburgh Lookout.
The sunrise over the Sea is special, it has to be to raise a teenager at 5am..
Please do come back when you can, even for a mini break in the winter!
Thanks again and Very Best Wishes to you all.,
Bob and Lisa Smith.
Proprietors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and the positive review.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Aldeburgh Lookout.
To hear we exceeded your expectations is a very pleasing response, thank you.
Please do come back when you can, we are open all year !
Best Wishes,
Bob and Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing