We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blessed and cursed”
Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Blessed and cursed”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Nice old-fashioned hotel with lots of beautiful public space. We stayed in room 10 which is blessed with what seems to be the only balcony with a view of the beach. This is great to sit and enjoy the sea view from. The down side of room 10 is that there is a pump in the bathroom which runs about every 5 minutes for a few seconds during the night. If you are a light sleeper, you'll want to avoid this room. I found the mattress very soft as well, but that's a personal thing. Nice room, not huge but well appointed and comfy overall. Good sound insulation from the hallway outside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bar2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    156
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
96
409
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Just returned from a short weekend break in Aldeburgh at The Wentworth.

Having visited this peaceful and utterly quaint seaside town on many previous occasions, but never stayed over, i had no real idea which hotel to consider.
I booked this 48 hours in advance and the rate offered for a superior in Darfield House annexe seemed reasonable (certainly more reasonable than Brudenhall).

My wife and i arrived earlier than planned at midday and were pleasantly surprised when we found that our room was ready.

The Room was very comfortable and large, with soft double bed and clean, but tired bathroom that requires new tiling around the sink and toilet (all cracked on floor and lower wall). A large walk in Shower enclosure, but sadly poor water pressure. The bathroom was equipped with a a very good range of shampoos etc.
Obviously, this is an older hotel and therefore lacks air - conditioning and as this was the hottest weekend of the year thus far, was a little on the warm side, but the fan in the room helped when required and didnt really detract from the overall comfort of the room.

The staff here are very efficient and friendly, during our bar lunch, afternoon tea and breakfast.
The garden areas are very well kept and the lounge / restaurants were very tastefully decorated in typical British style, which is actually a welcome change from the US chain hotel decoration.

The position, directly on sea front and two minutes from high street is excellent and i will definitely be returning and would reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from three nights at the Wentworth. It's just unbeatable. We had a fabulous room in Darfield House (the annexe across the road) - spacious, beautifully and comfortably furnished with a 5-piece (or should I say 5-star?) bathroom. The Wentworth is immacuately run, has masses of places for you to sit and relax in comfort - both inside and out - and the food is absolutely splendid. Even when a 30-people function was being catered for on our final evening, the residents' dinner was served without delay - the sign of a seriously-good hotel. The staff are charming and hit the ground running from dawn to dusk. This is FAR better value than anything else in the area. We have stayed in both the Brudenell down the road (rather brash and bouncy these days!) and the Crown and Castle at Orford (disgracefully over-priced for what is basically a 'restaurant with rooms' - ask for the Drawing Room and you'll see what we mean!). Aldeburgh is an idyllic spot and, without a doubt, the Wentworth is the THE place to stay. You'll enjoy every minute of it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbenezerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We were simply looking for a dog friendly place for lunch whilst visiting Aldeburgh. A 'phone call to the Wentworth was met with a friendly response (unlike the first hotel I contacted) and we duly arrived.
What a lovely 'traditional' and 'very British' hotel with a friendly welcoming atmosphere immediately apparent.
We sat in the comfortable bar and enjoyed excellent food selected from a comprehensive menu. The staff and other guests were charming and made a big fuss of our Wetie puppy.
We purchased a copy of Joyce Grenfell's book 'Letters from Aldeburgh' many of which were written from the hotel.
We travel to Suffolk each year in order to visit a dear friend and we stay in Lavenham. We are now planning a 'two centre' break next year as we feel we really must stay at The Wentworth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordshireDoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Sadly only a one night stay, would loved to have stayed longer. We booked after receiving an e mail from the hotel offering a bargain one night break. Obviously they were trying to fill the hotel rather than having empty rooms. The hotel is wonderful, excellent service from the friendly staff. The room, a superior with sea view, was comfortable and warm on a chilly April evening. We did not have dinner at the hotel only afternoon tea in the conservatory which was good. The breakfast was very satisfactory and well cooked with attentive staff. The hotel is located on the sea front in Aldeburgh, which in April was a quiet fishing village. We will, I am sure. return to the Wentworth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGrumpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Had a really enjoyable stay at The Wentworth for a few nights. The room was excellent with a sea view, comfortable bed and modern bathroom. The first night we had an excellent meal in the restaurant and the following morning breakfast was equally as good with excellent service from an obviously experienced and efficient waitress. The following evening the meal was not quite as good but nevertheless enjoyable, but unfortunately this trend continued. The next morning we had no hot water – apparently there was a problem with the water pump which was remedied by the time we returned in the evening. The hotel had filled up with more guests possibly due to an offer of £55 for B & B for one night only and a three course evening meal from £20 pp. Considering that we had booked for three nights and the third night was more expensive because it was April rates (£197 for D.B & B) we found this a bit annoying to say the least! The seafood menu was also extra to this and we had fish which incurred a supplement of £4.95 each on top of the rate we paid. The fish was rather a small portion and not worth the extra. As there are several fresh seafood outlets opposite the hotel on the beach I fail to see why the supplement was necessary as fish seemed to be in plentiful supply. Unfortunately on our last morning our breakfast order was forgotten and we had to wait rather a long time. It seems to me that The Wentworth runs like clockwork when it is half full but when there is a sudden influx of visitors the level of service suffers. Despite my comments I would say that this is a comfortable and typically English hotel and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed once again at this lovely hotel right on the beach in Aldeburgh. Very comfortable public lounge areas, great location, excellent dining and comfortable rooms. The staff are always pleasant as are the fellow guests. Good choice if you wish to visit Southwold, Malt Snapings, Minsmere or Dunwich Heath.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
12.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Property: Wentworth Hotel
Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing