We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Step back- and relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Step back- and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

To stay at the Wentworth Hotel in Aldeburgh is to take a trip back in time to an era when life was leisurely and not measured in emails. The hotel is a road's width from the stony beach which is dotted with tarred fisherman's huts which provide daily supplies to the hotel's varied menu. If you are up before 5am you see vessels chugging out to sea for the day's catch. The hotel boasts 2 rosettes(why only 2?) and the menu daily reflects the hotel's seaside location. Dinner bookings are elastic to cope with poor time keepers. Meat eaters are well catered for - ribeye steaks are a speciality. Service is professional and courteous leavened with Suffolk humour. The public rooms are numerous and spacious providing a sense of freedom. Altogether, an experience to be repeated.

Room Tip: First floor with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated and your comments will be passed on to the staff. Our dining times for residents are open when booked on our dinner, bed and breakfast rate so I'm glad you liked the flexibility of this.

Thank you again for your comments

We hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    140
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
85
370
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We made our first ever visit to the Wentworth back in May, for a 4-night stay.
The rooms were lovely, as were the staff, the food and the public areas.
Couldn't fault it!
Aldeburgh itself is a perfect base from which to explore the local area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mainlinerLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is pleasing to know that the hard work of the staff is rewarded by guests having a good break

It is particularly good as it was your first visit to the hotel. We hope this is the first visit of many!

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

just had a one night stay at the wentworth dinner bed and breakfast well can only describe this as a bit of fantastic of good old fashioned english hospitality spectacular position right on the beach room spotless and as described dinner good selection and very enjoyable breakfast full english served to us our anniversary so wanted looking after and they hit the bullseye cant wait to go back very soon me thinks thanks to all at the wentworth

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a complimentary review. It is nice to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Congratulations on your anniversary. I do hope you choose to stay at the Wentworth again when visiting Aldeburgh

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay and highly recommend for a relaxing break. Lovely location. We had a second floor suite with sea view which was very quiet with great views. Room was very nicely appointed and spacious. Restaurant very nice with good view and good value. Breakfast very good.
Welcome was very nice and friendly and service generally was excellent.
The only gripe was we felt the B and B costs are too high. We did not benefit from a special rate which made it very expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed in of similar standard.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must - not worth the extra for a suite unless you are going to spend a lot of time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review and I hope you enjoyed the lovely sea views from your bedroom

I'm sorry you found the bed and breakfast rate to be high. It is well worth taking advantage of our dinner, bed and breakfast rate which is only £15.00 more per person and allows you each to take a three course meal in the restaurant each evening. Also please do add yourself to our mailing list on our website for news of special deals and breaks

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We love visiting the Wentworth. It has an old fashioned 'cosy' feel about it that suits Aldeburgh so well. The staff are always cheerful and efficient. The food is good, the rooms clean and well furnished with excellent bathrooms and the lounges are varied in character but all very pleasant and comfortable. We'll be going again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. I'm pleased you found the staff to be good and the food likewise

Our lounges all have different features and furnishings and the bedrooms similarly

It is good to read you will be back with us soon and we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Not a cheap stay but you get what you pay for, which is great, characterful public areas (lots of them), fantastic seaview rooms (though these are pricier), great food (especially the evening meals) and good service. A romantic, independent hotel but also good for a family stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our spacious lounges certainly contribute to the overall feel of the hotel and create the home from home atmosphere we aim for. We have been owned by the same family now for 94 years so truly an independent hotel.

Your comments about the cuisine are pleasing and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future so you can enjoy the hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Recently re- furbished this is a very nice sea- side hotel with old fashioned service.
Food was very good and service excellent - a popular restaurant locally for non residents.
Car park can be tight for spaces if you arrive late.
Only minor complaint was the water flow to the bath - it took an age to fill!! ( but the shower was good)

Room Tip: The large sea front rooms are very good, particularly room 24 with a bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant is popular with both residents and non-residents and I'm glad the service was also appreciated.

I apologise for the bath taking a long time to fill. Perhaps you might contact me direct with your room number and our maintenance department can inspect this - james.wentworth@hotmail.com

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
8.4 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Property: Wentworth Hotel
Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing