We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The stunning hotel that never disappoints”
Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The stunning hotel that never disappoints”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have just returned from the charming seaside town of Aldeburgh in Suffolk and our annual stay at the Wentworth Hotel.....which remains so special in our varied travels. This privately owned hotel defies all current trends in remaining charming, unspoilt and yet quietly keeping apace with gentle modernisations and superb facilities. Our sea view room was so delightful it was a wrench to leave every morning for the Aldeburgh Literary Festival sessions- our annual indulgence alongside this wonderful hotel. We arrived later than planned on a cold February evening , concerned that we were late for our booked dinner....only to be greeted with charm and total reassurance that we had time to relax. The hotel restaurant never disappoints....delicious breakfasts and stunning dinners.....a varied and tempting menu designed to meet any discerning palette . The fish and seafood is bought from one of the fishermen's huts which abound the pebbled seafront opposite. - freshly caught and indeed one evening we actually saw the fishing boat return with the early evening catch. An excellent wine list to suit any budget.
Nothing is too much for the staff and one cannot help but think this is a very well managed and happy team who are committed to this lovely hotel and all the visitors it welcomes.
The hotel proprietor is Michael Pritt whose family has owned the Wentworth for 93 years.....we hope we are around to enjoy its delights into 100 !

Room Tip: A range of rooms..the reception staff will give excellent advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 709Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. All your comments are so complimentary and they are great to hear.

We too wish that the Pritt family reach a century of Wentworth ownership

We buy our fish from the markets and huts and try and almost all of our food is sourced within a 30 mile radius of the hotel.

Hopefully you will be back with us soon. If not we look forward to having you back during next year's literary festival
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    154
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
95
404
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our third stay at this hotel in Aldeburgh, country house in style, and the best service imaginable in the restaurant, bar, reception, in fact all facets. Food choices and servings very good, but note that the main course is all served on one plate, vegetables, etc., not separately. Most comfortable rooms, do ask for a sea view, and the lounges set a standard that is way above other hotels we have stayed in. (If you want 'boutique style then the hotel for you is the Brudenell at the other end of the front.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you have found your third visit just as good as the first two. The ambience of the hotel is something we pride ourselves on and I am glad this was appreciated

With regards to the vegetables we can of course serve these seperately if you prefer!

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

lovely hotel decorated beautiful, lots of little lounges to eat drink or read ect. we went for lunch as we live near aldebergh and as we have just moved to the area will make this a once a month meal here, its the best wev had so far, the food was excllant and the views overlooking the sea are lovely, coffee in the lounge afterwards, perfect. one thing i went in my denims, no one commented or maybe noticed but felt i could have made an effort with some smarter jeans, but it was packed and will book in future.ther is a set lunch course 2 courses very reasonable, i would definitely reccommed and quite a nice varied choice as i only eat fish, but heard from the others all the food was excellant.

Room Tip: id book for lunch its from about 12/3 but it was very full
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah635927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. Furthermore we look forward to seeing you on a monthly basis - this is great news. Please spread the word as our lunches do get busy but we were only too glad to fit you in. Our lounges are a bonus to relax in before or after the meal

Hope to see you in a month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful, graceful hotel. Stayed in a sea view room, but unfortunately did not get the best of weather to appreciate the view. The room was fantastic and thank you for leaving the binoculars to look out to sea, warm, cosey, smart and very comfortable. The food was excellent, and I would thoroughly recomend the Fillet of Beef in Peppercorn sauce. The suffolk bacon at breakfast was very tasty. Staff very helpful and courteous. We stayed for a couple of nights over the weekend, and I can't wait to go back and stay again. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although it was cold outside we are glad you found it warming inside. The three open fires help us create a nice homely atmosphere for people to relax in. It is nice you still managed to use the binoculars. The steak is also Suffolk beef, and as much as possible of our produce is Suffolk.

We are pleased to read you can't wait to come back and we will be here to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, couldn't fault it. In the new annex over the road, very good large room, large bed and bath and separate shower room. Pretty garden out back, would be lovely in summer. Breakfast terrific.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you like the newly refurbished Darfield House. It has received many good comments since it was done. The garden is lovely in the summer - ideal for a spot of afternoon tea or some people have their breakfast over there!

We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We returned after a gap of ten years (children!) for a long weekend to find all the best bits of the Wentworth were all still there and still worked and the hotel was still constantly being refreshed and updated to maintain such high standards.

The hotel sets out to be a 'country house hotel by the sea', and that it achieves splendidly. I have not stayed anywhere quite like it where all the best of 'old fashioned' values and service, of style and decor work in this thoroughly modern world - without dating and tweaked to embrace the world as it evolves. The public rooms are originally and beautifully presented, with high quality furnishings and the bedrooms are equally tasteful, high quality and wonderfully comfortable. The staff are patient, friendly, very professional and efficient.

And overall the hotel exudes charm and grace and its very own sense of identity and place. I was struck by how little had changed but actually how all that the hotel was is still relevant now. This is very hard to describe as this is a very special hotel.

The restaurant is excellent for whatever meal, the ingredients are seasonal, local and high quality and change subtly day on day too. The staff were excellent and knowledgeable and I was very pleased to see Roger still there after what must have been a long career there.

Michael Pritt, the owner of the hotel still seems to actively manage it and has created a loyal customer base of people who return again and again as well as making it something special if it is your first time. If you are there for more than a night you will almost certainly bump into him.

And of course the setting is wonderful, close to culture and nature and sitting looking out across the fisherman's boats and huts to the sea in a wonderful and still vibrant seaside town.

A wonderful stay and we are so pleased we returned again. The only thing we missed were the mint imperials that used to be in each bedroom!

Room Tip: Darfield house has bigger, plusher rooms but not sea views. If you can, go for a room with a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. It is with great pleasure that we read such good comments. The hotel does operate a refurbishment programme and plans are already being made for next year!

We certainly feel our spacious lounges are comfortable and make people feel at home

Please do not leave it ten years before you come back to us again!

Best wishes from all at the Wentworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a lovely night here as a birthday treat for my wife. Aldeburgh is enchanting and this hotel is the perfect place to enjoy it from. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, and it was really great that the hospitality tray has Fairtrade products.

We had a half-board rate and the food was absolutely delicious. The lobster (you have to pay a surcharge) was some of the best I've ever had!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope you had a good birthday.

We try and use fair trade wherever we can for products. All our coffee at breakfast is also triple certified - fair trade, organic and rainforest alliance certified!

The lobster is a real treat and we think is worth the extra - glad you enjoyed

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
12.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.4 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Property: Wentworth Hotel
Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing