We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality by the Sea”
Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Couldn't get a sea view room so settled for standard double at the back. Comfortable enough, but not the same as waking up looking at the unique beach-side ambiance that is so special about Aldeburgh. Still, the superb service and delicious food, in the restaurant looking toward the beach, made up for it. Will return, but to sea view room.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the food and service

Hopefully next time we will have a sea view room available. The morning views watching the sun rising are magnificent. All our sea view rooms have binoculars to enhance the view further

We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
There are newer reviews for Wentworth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 672 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for a single night stay in early November. The service, decor, room and food was perfect. I think it is its independence that explains the extra attention to detail over that you can expect from chains. Lots of original art and antique furniture. The rooms are very well finished, modern and stylish. The beds are very comfortable. We are already planning our next trip...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel prides itself on offering comfort to all our guests and the family ownership of the hotel hopefully is evident in the detail.

We hope to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

For the second time in 10 days we have just enjoyed the hospitality of the Wentworth Hotel.The decor is striking and the artwork interesting and contemporary.
The welcome, service and 3 course supper was very good value and the whole stay was cosy and relaxing-We would like to live there and retire!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel and the separate house opposite.Both rooms were quiet and beautifully de...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for leaving a review and for revisiting us so soon.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay again and the furnishings and decor are appreciated. You are most welcome to come and stay permanently!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked two separate events at this hotel - one for a small (22) group of senior citizens, some with special needs and the other a birthday lunch for 20 from 9 months to 95 years. The Events team were really on the ball with the details - place cards that had to be moved a lot as expected guests didn't turn up and unexpected ones did; high chairs and children's menu were delivered, and specially printed menus provided. Both groups of guests left feeling they had had a special evening and the hostess (95) felt very chuffed with both parties. Our guests in wheelchairs were greeted by the vigilant staff ad escorted through an entrance with ramps etc and made to feel really welcome. Costs per head were reasonable and the kitchen staff were very flexible over menu selection to suit our budget.

Room Tip: If it is a special occasion a sea view is a treat. Room 5 has a nice power shower; Room 4's deco...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_starr208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Delighted to read that both parties were enjoyed by all and especially the birthday girl.

I am glad the ad spec nature of our function organisation is appreciated and the staff work hard to ensure all events go to plan and are savoured by all guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Wentworth Hotel, for a weekend break, utilising one of the hotel deals - offering a half board package.
The Hotel is well situated on the coast road with very little traffic noise, though unusually the main entrance & car park is on a one way street at the rear of the Hotel.
Check-in was efficient and we were allocated room 3 on the first floor (though not shown to it).
The room was on the small side, but adequate for a weekend stay. Though exceptionally clean, the décor (carpet & wallpaper especially) would benefit from being updated – this is opposed to all public areas, which are immaculately decorated & luxuriously furnished!!!
The major negative for us was the en-suite bathroom, this again was small, but well decorated & very clean – unfortunately it only had a bath with a hand held shower. Being 6” tall I was unable to stand upright in the bath without hitting my head on the ceiling & the bath being quite deep, makes it difficult for getting in & out especially for those who are not quite as mobile……. In this day & age, I would expect all hotels to have an en-suite shower facility in each room – rather than just a bath with hand held shower - We also heard other occupants also bemoaning the lack of proper shower facilities!

As I mentioned before all the public areas: bar, dining room & lounges are exceptionally well decorated, well lit, cozy and comfortable.
The menu for the dining room was nicely presented with a good selection of choices for each coarse, the food itself was of a high standard, though portion sizes on the Friday evening were erring towards the small size, Saturdays portion control was more generous. The waiting staff are highly commended on their professionalism throughout service for all meals, this praise is inclusive of the bar services also.

Overall a very enjoyable stay, excluding the minor items highlighted above

Room Tip: Request an en-suite stand in shower, and larger room for any more than a weekend stay.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We do have some rooms that we cannot unfortunately put a stand up shower in due to ceiling heights. Room 3 is one of these and the shower in this room is just meant as an attachment. We have many rooms with a stand up shower over the bath or a seperate shower cubicle so please do ask for one of these if you choose to book again, which we sincerely hope you will.

The land at the rear is all owned by the hotel. There is no room on the sea front of the hotel for a car park unfortunately and the entrance being near the car park seems the most practical answer. The layout stretches back to when Lord Wentworth used to own the estate.

Overall I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back very soon

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Earlier this month I took my family to the Wentworth for the weekend to celebrate my recent retirement. We have been frequenting the hotel for a number of years, mainly in the winter.
There were 7 of us in all, including my 2 year old grandaughter. The 3 sea facing rooms were stunning, in particular room 41 on the ground floor occupied by my daughter and family. The food and service was outstanding as usual - nothing was too much trouble. Our 2 year old decided that it was all too interesting and joined us at dinner both nights in her buggy! We have booked again for February and look forward to yet another successful stay.

Room Tip: The second floor sea facing rooms, though slightly smaller, have the views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank godmanchesterharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the hotel and in particular the spacious ground floor seaview room. The staff all look forward to welcoming you back in February!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Decided to go to the Wentworth for a night away - My Sister had stayed a few months ago and said how nice it was - so i thought i would give it ago.
We arrived through the back door as the car park is at the back of the Hotel - The Receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming we were put in room 5 on the first floor - we asked to be changed as my Husband always asks for a high room less noise - We didn't need to worry about the noise it was like a grave yard very quiet.
Room 15 was quite small and cosy - The Bathroom was very modern and clean - with a nice bath and lovely shower.
The bed was a normal double and a bit hard - pillows were feather and rather small - would have liked to have a choice of foam and feather.
The room was well furnished with two built in wardrobes and drawers - there was no dressing table or mirror to do a girls make up other than in the Bathroom.
The food in the Restaurant was excellent - all cooked to order - The Menu had a good range of choice But some dishes were as extras Steaks Lobsters Fish etc...
The meal was one of the best i have had in a long time could not fault anything - We did have to go for a quick walk afterwards - a long the shore line to walk it off before retiring to bed.
The Hotel has a warm and comfortable feeling with log fires and cosy armchairs - Lots of older People where staying which made it feel a bit like a place to stay for the more mature person.
But a very good deal at £149.00 with bed and breakfast and evening meal.
The Breakfast was all cooked to order and very hot and tasty - The Porridge was very good - as well as the smoked haddock and poached egg.
Would stay at the Wenthworth again and would more than likely go back for a meal when in Aldeburgh again.

Room Tip: Sea rooms have more room and better views of the sea
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing the hotel for your night away. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would return

We do take requests for certain rooms so if you prefer a second floor then we will try and accommodate you. There are foam pillows available on request so please do ask at reception and we can provide these.

Please pass on our thanks to your sister for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,504 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
820 reviews
12.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: $191 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing