We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B
Ranked #8 of 16 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Have just returned from a lovely stay at Swiss Cottage. It definitely lived up to all the good reviews.

Our room was imaculate, breafast was great and our hosts very welcoming and friendly. In fact we didn't want to leave!

It is the perfect base from which to explore this beautiful part of the country.

We will definitely be recommending Swiss Cottage to our friends and family, and can't wait to return there ourselves!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a really good B and B. The breakfasts are vey good. The room was of a very high standard. Very close to all the major attractions. Hospitality offered was first class. Highly reccommended.

Dave

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I booked this B&B because it looked pretty good on the website. When I arrived it lived up to all my expectations, it was imaculately presented, tastefully decorated and our hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it if you want a base in Suffolk.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane-Brummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We booked this hotel because of its location and read the reviews on this forum. It seemed to be 'too good to be true' but in fact in our opinion it was better than we had read.

The house is in fact designed and built in the style of a Swiss Cottage, light wood, spacious, modern and airy. Eugene is in the building trade.

Within minutes of arriving we were seeking information from them and they switched on their computer and obliged us - a great sign. This was quickly followed by a nice cup of tea and biscuits.
We extended our stay and enjoyed our time in the area. The local cinema is quaint but very up to date and there are plenty of good restuarants in the area. Breakfast is amongst the best we have had this year, I always like it when they go to the trouble of supporting local produce. Here they had local eggs, bacon, sausage and tomatoes, can't really ask for better than that. The bread was local too and was all the better for it. The bedroom and bathroom were state of the art and everywhere was clean. Throw in smiling hosts and sensible prices and it is easy to see why Swiss Cottage rates five stars. Would we return? of course we would.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have not been happy with places we have stayed in the Aldeburgh area for some- time. We came across Swiss Cottage on Trip Advisor and thought we would give it a try
2 nights, lovely room, hot showers(which you don,t always get in holiday accom)
and a very good breakfast what more could you ask for.....You get Eugene and Heather who will give you a very warm welcome , and always find time for a chat with you .....
Thorpeness/Aldeburgh are less then ten minutes down the road. give the Dolphin in Thorpeness a try good food /good service.....As for Swiss Cottage they don.t come much better.........

Room Tip: All rooms very good Thorpeness room looks out onto lovely back garden
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnydays071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Swiss Cottage for a mini break. The B&B is modern and beautifully designed and our room, despite being the cheapest one was spacious and very comfortable. It was located at the front of the house, so we did have a little noise from the road, but only when the window was wide open. Our room did not have an ensuite, but we did have our own private bathroom, which was about six paces accross the landing and amazing, with a whirlpool bath and a separate shower enclosure.
Breakfast was great, with lots of choice. The owners, Eugene and Heather could not have been more accommodating and we very much enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Only 1 is located fully at the back of the house, so would be the quietest & have full view of t...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyBaaBaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

As my husband is in a wheelchair, booking can be a problem at B&B's, but Eugene and Heather had a great room and couldn't do enough for us. Bright and spacious for disabled access. Lovely place with walks just down the road and only a few mins in the car to Aldeburgh. Breakfasts were great. Lots of choice and great fried brekky, even veggie sausages! There's a pub 5/10 mins walk down the road, the Parrot and Punchbowl. Very friendly old pub. Booking at Swiss Cottage definately made our stay a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraChallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B

Address: Aldeburgh Road | Aldringham, Aldeburgh IP16 4QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Price Range: $102 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Cottage is a newly established 4* luxury Bed and Breakfast conveniently located between Aldeburgh and Thorpeness. Our peaceful leafy location provides a relaxing base for anyone looking to visit the nearby pretty Suffolk villages. Our large comfortable rooms meet the highest standards featuring kingsize high quality beds and stunning fully tiled en-suites. Heather & Eugene look forward to welcoming you and making your stay as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing