We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously unwelcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Seriously unwelcoming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We popped in for lunch and first impressions in the bar area were not great, could do with a bit of a spruce up etc. But as we saw they had tables out back with a view out to the sea we were happy to give it a try.

However, we stood waiting and waiting to be served, we saw the gentleman who was running the bar go past us many times with no acknowledgement as he was clearing a few empty glasses from outside, although he wasn't busy so surely waiting customers should have come first? He did see us standing there but just carried on, it felt as though he was just hoping we would go away. After waiting 5-10 minutes he eventually came to the bar with not even a word of hello, he didn't even ask us what we wanted he simply stared at us and waited for us to tell him. He then proceeded to pour the drinks in total silence not even a thank you. It was at this point we decided we would just get drinks and eat elsewhere.

We sat outside which is very nice on a sunny day looking out to sea, although you do feel a little closed-in by the surrounding high walls of neighbouring properties. What then amused us was a loud-speaker they had set up outside to announce loudly to those seated outside when there food was ready and they had to go and fetch it from indoors. No customer service here. It was quite funny to hear 'Helen, your food is ready, Helen' and then the slightly embarrased individual getting up from their table to fetch it as instructed.

This could be a good pub due to its location, but we found it to only really welcome locals, anyone else they really could not be bothered about. We later went to The Mill Inn nearby which offered us a very warm welcome and we had a great lunch there instead. Why be in the service industry and treat paying customers in that manner?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucindajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    29
    15
    21
See reviews for
32
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have a holiday home in Aldeburgh, are there every couple of weeks and love the place. The Cross Keys however is in drastic need of a refresh. Once or twice a year I pop in for a pint to see if there's any improvement. No, still smells of old cooking oil and fried food, the beer is warm, the glasses have been a bit, well, grubby, and the bar staff efficient without being enthusiastic (although I believe the barman who used to sneer contemptuously at you and demand "Is that all" has left). We don't eat there because we don't like the smell and the look of the kitchen through the serving hatch. It's a tired old place that could be so much better. Great location but needs to chill it's ales, open some windows, and smarten up the drinking area overlooking the beach. It could be a goldmine!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aldeburgh hotels

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We visited Aldeburgh and decided to get something for lunch in the Cross Keys. The outdoor seating area was free of debris it's not the most picturesque of places. The menu was situated inside the pub next to a hatch for the kitchen, reminded me of an old style canteen. We both opted for an open sandwich. We had to wait until our names were shouted over an old PA system and collect our food at the canteen counter. The food was tasty but a little disappointing, I thought £6.50 was expensive for what was a slice of bread with some prawns on it an lots of lettuce. I can't comment on the staff as I didn't see any, service was very much self service.
I would say that it's not suitable for wheelchair users as there is a step into the bar and ordering area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

It's not the most glamorous location in Aldeburgh, but it's always our first port of call on a trip to the coast.

The menu is varied and unpretentious and cooked well. It's good pub food, served quickly and if the weather's up to scratch you can eat it in the garden on the seafront - worth a visit if you're in town.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I was unaware that pubs like this existed any more. Staff are less than helpful or friendly, the place smells bad and has the atmosphere of the moon. Stopped off with friends for a quick pint and regretted it when we looked at the state of our beer glasses after a few sips, minging with lip marks around the rim. Did not try the food, nor did i want to. Exterior of the pub is shabby to say the least. This place surely has to rely on tourist trade to make it through the year. Cannot believe Adnams allow their name above the door.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have to admit we love the Cross Keys because it isn't pretentious, it can't afford to be!
You get a great pint of Adnams here.

The food is unfussy, quite straight forward and without the delicate touches that seperate pub food from resturant menus, you shouldn't compare the two it's just not fair.

We've eaten here twice recently and both time the food was good, plentiful and hit the right spot each time. The staff have always been great too.

One day someone will do it up and ruin it probably.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester Essex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Called in a little on the late side and enjoyed a great lunch, fish and chips and fish pie. friendly staff and no complaints from us. thought I would write this as other people have complained on here about the food. Good selection and reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColchesterEssexWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
13.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn

Property: Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn
Address: Cross Keys Crabbe Street, Aldeburgh IP15 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing