We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Properly bad.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I was unaware that pubs like this existed any more. Staff are less than helpful or friendly, the place smells bad and has the atmosphere of the moon. Stopped off with friends for a quick pint and regretted it when we looked at the state of our beer glasses after a few sips, minging with lip marks around the rim. Did not try the food, nor did i want to. Exterior of the pub is shabby to say the least. This place surely has to rely on tourist trade to make it through the year. Cannot believe Adnams allow their name above the door.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 146 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have to admit we love the Cross Keys because it isn't pretentious, it can't afford to be!
You get a great pint of Adnams here.

The food is unfussy, quite straight forward and without the delicate touches that seperate pub food from resturant menus, you shouldn't compare the two it's just not fair.

We've eaten here twice recently and both time the food was good, plentiful and hit the right spot each time. The staff have always been great too.

One day someone will do it up and ruin it probably.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KevinandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Called in a little on the late side and enjoyed a great lunch, fish and chips and fish pie. friendly staff and no complaints from us. thought I would write this as other people have complained on here about the food. Good selection and reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ColchesterEssexWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights with a friend last weekend while getting in some cycling in the area. Really can't understand any negative reviews. We had a great time here and met some friendly people including the staff who couldn't have been more accommodating. We thought it was the best pub in town so to be staying upstairs, well, there is a heaven after all.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank StuWolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

(I didn't stay so can't speak for the rooms.)Years ago I enjoyed many a good night drinking in the summer sun. But sadly that is all the pub is good for! The food is tasteless and over cooked. One server used their thumb to hold the fish on the plate. We had over cooked chips, greasy over cooked scampi, the trout was very poor. The beer was good so if you want a drink go there if you want to eat don't,

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

As there were going to be around sixteen of us I thought it best to make a reservation. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food was a good pub standard at a very reasonable price. For those of the party who liked real ale there was a good selection including Adnams'( the local brewery) My wife had the house white wine which she assured me was not bad. All in all it was a good experience, and everyone had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Visited Ye Olde Cross Keys for a quiet weekend for our wedding anniversary in January, and actually found it great then. The weather certainly helped - Aldeburgh could probably be pretty miserable with a North or East wind. It's a pub with food and rooms rather than a hotel, but the room was well appointed, though I could understand if it would be noisy in the summer with the courtyard right outside. Dinner and breakfast both good and very obliging - local seafood was good too - particularly the sprats as a starter. Don't try going up the stairs (or down them) with two suitcases - they are a bit narrow, but the place certainly has character. This place was actually recommended to us for a winter weekend and it served its purpose very nicely.

Room Tip: Double room with the sea view is a very nice room with a four poster bed - BUT it is overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aldeburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tirah Guest House
Tirah Guest House
#1 of 1 in Aldringham
188 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
#13 of 16 in Aldeburgh
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Toll House
Toll House
#4 of 16 in Aldeburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn

Address: Cross Keys Crabbe Street, Aldeburgh IP15 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing