We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snape Maltings

Snape Maltings
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snape Maltings is a much loved destination on the Suffolk Coast. Situated alongside the River Alde and the collection of 7 acres of Victorian listed buildings are filled with an array of independent shops, galleries, eateries and home to the world famous Snape Maltings Concert Hall. There are river walks to Iken and Aldeburgh and river trips which sail on the tide to Iken from May to September. Enjoy walking along the boardwalks through the reeds and view the stunning sculptures by Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth.Farmers markets take place on the first Saturday of each month. Snape Maltings has been a family owned and operated business for over 45 years.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I found wherever I went on the complex everyone was very courteous and helpful, especially with me dog who was with me at the time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank manukandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    169
    67
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nothing exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Its a lovely place with beautiful buildings but if you're going for the shopping, forget it. its mostly bought in tat that you can get in most high streets with a few local/artisan art pieces thrown in.
Maybe if we had gone on a farmers market day it would have been better but it's somewhere I wont bother with again unless its for a special day.
Shame really as it has such great potential.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank artpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very busy on Farmers Market day - service could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a wonderful location. The shops are great and very different from the usual high street shops. We tried to get into the pub but they didn't allow prams and we hadn't booked - it was very busy on Farmers Market day. We bough quite a bit and as you would expect its a bit more expensive than the supermarket. Service could be better perhaps they didn't expect it to get so busy? They were filming Countryfile a couple of days later when family went back on their own to visit again and spend more time in the shops. You can also rent property here too and the accommodation looked very nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MBA1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing little haven of arts, culture and yummy food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was such an amazing little haven! I think it's a converted brewery which now houses a couple of cafes, a pub and a restaurant, alongside a concert hall and lots of little shops selling everything from local produce, to house and homeware, antiques and art.

We ate in one of the little cafes and were thoroughly impressed with the quality of the food - really put the typical National Trust style cafes to shame!

We also managed to get tickets for Beethoven's 9th Symphony in the concert hall and it was truly incredible. Such a beautiful hall and the sound was perfect. My only advice would be to take a cushion along as the seats aren't that comfortable!

We also loved going for a walk by the river amongst the reeds and wildlife towards the back of the complex. The views were absolutely stunning and you can take a boat trip up the river from April every year. We didn't do this as we had tickets for the performance but otherwise we would have been sorely tempted.

It took quite a lot of will power not to leave with bags upon bags of local produce and homeware but it was a thoroughly enjoyable day!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hedeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend retreat, what a fantastic stylish appartment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We couldn't fault the appartment, so stylish and not at all like a holiday rent. Walks were stunning, shopping excellent and food delicious in the cafe's. We will definately be back and now see this as our little bolt hole. Who needs a holiday home with all that responsibilty when this home from home is available. I can't speak highly enough of it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovelyLavenderlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snape Maltings also viewed

 
Aldeburgh, Suffolk
 

Been to Snape Maltings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing