We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Boutique but”
Review of Eaton House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eaton House B&B
Ranked #14 of 17 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
London, England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Not Boutique but”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Have to say was expecting an Alistair Sawday type boutique B&B. this it certainly is not. Its a bit rough at the seams and reminds me of my student days when you shared a Kitchen off the corridor. That said, its quite charming in a way with the views and character of the building; You almost feel you are part of the commune. I think the building is inhabited by artists! The landlady went out of her way to contact us when she had a cancellation and was very accommodating and ensures a welcome stay. One of the guests coming to breakfast in their dressing gown was the final double take as to whether I was kipping over at a friends digs after a night out. Fun but no frills.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We've just spent two lovely days at Eaton House. Although it looks a little bit intimidating at first sight, don't let this put you off. Venture to the top of the stairs and meet Karen who is a wonderful host, and Ruby her little blind dog.

The rooms are big and bright with wonderful views. We had one of the front ones and it was delightful to lie on the large bed, listening to the seagulls and the surf crashing on the shingle. The sunrise was absolutely magnificent. There is another room at the rear which overlooks the garden and benefits from the afternoon and evening sun. Guests are at liberty to use the kitchen for making hot drinks and the fridge for cooling beer or wine. The dining room doubles up as a resident's lounge with lots of interesting books, pamphlets and leaflets about the local are both past and present. Many of Karen's paintings adorn the walls and give a real personal atmosphere to each room. She is an absolute wealth of local knowledge and will happily recommend various restaurants and places to see both locally and further afield.

You can read reviews such as this and try to decide whether to come or go. This little gem in Aldeburgh is one where only you can really determine if it will suffice - and the only way to do that is to give it a try. We stumbled on it by chance but will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited Aldeburgh as a last minute break due to wonderful early October sunshine. Eaton House was easy to find, just off the seafront. It is a large, slightly forbidding looking building and the 3 rooms are on the top floor, 2 have a fantastic sea view - one has an en suite shower and toilet while the other rooms share a bathroom. The third is a large double with a wonderful view of the garden. You have use of a large sitting room with the same fantastic sea view, a roof top sun terrace and a kitchen with fridge, cooker and microwave if you want to heat up some fish and chips!. Eaton House is a former convent run by Karen, who is full of recommendations for restaurants and things to do. Breakfast in the morning is taken in the sitting room looking out at the sea view and is also very good
The B and B is five minutes walk from the centre with many options to eat, from fish and chips to quality restaurants. We followed Karens recommendation of PD's which is a small bar/restaurant which serves fantastic Thai food in the summer. - the Tempura Cod and Seafood Thai curry were excellent and the mixed starter was amazing. It is also incredible good value.
We would certainly return to Eaton House next time we visit Aldeburgh

Room Tip: The room with the garden view is very quiet and has a larger bed which is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BADGEREssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Eaton House is a fantastic hotel and well worthy of a visit. Our room, over looking the sea, was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The owner made us feel at home immediately, and from the warm welcome when we arrived, right through to when we unfortunately had reached the end of our stay at Aldeburgh, there was nothing that would have made our stay any better. The remarkable house house and gardens, an old convent, is a must to stay in.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

An odd property, formerly a convent, and as a previous reviewer said, it looks a bit forbidding, but go upstairs and it is absolutely charming. The building is set back from the sea front, but our very comfortable room had a great sea view. There is a large sitting/breakfast room with the same sea view, lots of interesting paintings on the walls and a wide variety of books. Karen is an excellent host and her breakfasts are great. Some people might prefer a rather more conventional B and B, but for many this will be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spacious airy rooms and a warm welcome. Stayed for a few days for the Aldeburgh festival and very happy at Eaton House. The building looks a little forbidding, it is a former convent, but the B&B floor is comfortable with sea views. Part of the building is given over to what seems to be an artists colony so its a little Bohemian, which ads to the stay.Karen cooks a great breakfast and her dog Ruby is also good company. Waking to the sound of gulls is always to be recommended. Would certainly book in the future!

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed at Eaton House with my wife and young daughter for an Easter break. We wanted relaxation and that's what we got. The room's sea view was great to wake up to as were the breakfasts. Though the weather wasn't ideal, the town itself was easily walkable in a few minutes and we loved the fish and chips. Karen, the host, looked after everything we requested, kept our daughter entertained and made sure we were comfortable. We'll be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Willvamanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
8.4 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton House B&B

Property: Eaton House B&B
Address: 17 Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is divided into four flats of which the B&B, on the top floor, is one. The atmosphere is informal and friendly. There is a large sun deck and sitting room with wonderful views, books, games and TV/DVD. Internet connection can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eaton House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton House B&B Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing