We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. What a find.”
Review of Eaton House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eaton House B&B
Ranked #14 of 16 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed at Eaton House with my wife and young daughter for an Easter break. We wanted relaxation and that's what we got. The room's sea view was great to wake up to as were the breakfasts. Though the weather wasn't ideal, the town itself was easily walkable in a few minutes and we loved the fish and chips. Karen, the host, looked after everything we requested, kept our daughter entertained and made sure we were comfortable. We'll be back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Willvamanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Must have the best sea views in the town. Also the garden is delightful (overlooked by the third bedroom.) Fantastic amount of space in this Victorian house, such a change from claustrophobic hotel rooms one often encounters. Good restaurants in the town (try DP's), excellent night's sleep followed by a delicious and varied breakfast served by charming landlady; will definitly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigOsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

From the moment you enter through the heavy oak door you feel that the stresses of everyday life are left behind. We received a warm welcome and found a comfortable world on the top floor of the captivating Victorian house. The fact that Karen, our host, is an artist explains the colourful, eclectic nature of the furnishings. In fact, being surrounded by art, books and comfortable sofas, I was in my element. Karen had the ability to be sociable and attentive without encroaching on our romantic getaway. Down to basics: the bedroom was extremely light and airy, with an atmospheric sea-view, the bed was very comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water. The breakfast was cooked to perfection which we ate in the large sitting room at a table in the window overlooking the sea, what more does one want. This is not a contemporary, boutique style establishment but this is exactly how relaxation and comfort should be. Almost forgot to mention the tranquil garden. Did not want to leave; will definitely return.

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms with sea view, one ensuite, one using bathroom next door; plus another overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineAnn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I f you want the real experience of visiting a historic Suffolk coastal town, then Eaton House is for you. If you wanted a Travellodge you should have stayed on the Ipswich bypass. Ask for the en-suite bedroom with a view of the sea. Eaton House is a large, clean, friendly Victorian house that still bears evidence, in its delightful entrance hall, of its time as a nunnery and then a school. It also has a large beautifully kept garden which you can roam in. The breakfasts from locally sourced produce are not to be missed. The people who run Eaton House are happy to tell you its history or leave you in peace as you wish. Unless you live in a world of ten shilling notes it is a very good value B&B with a lot to recommend itself

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redr0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Two bedrooms are at the front of the house with a sea view. One room has an en-suite bathroom and the other has a sink. There is a third bedroom with a view of the spacious garden at the back. There is a communal bathroom for the two rooms without a bathroom. There is a TV in the communal sitting room but not in the rooms themselves. The hostess is very helpful and friendly and gives suggestions for places to visit. She has a lovely dog called Ruby who is very friendly and never barks. All the rooms in this B & B are large and full of light. The seagulls are quite noisy in the morning which disturbed me a little bit as I had the window open but it made a nice change from hearing traffic. The B & B is very close to the one and only cinema in Aldeburgh and only a short walk to the high street. The breakfast kept me going well past lunchtime- cereal, choice of tea or coffee, orange juice, toast, bacon, scrambled egg, mushrooms and tomatoes.

Room Tip: The B&B is on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Charming homey warm and clean. Hostess is so kind and very helpful with information on area. I felt very at home and could do my work in the large sitting room, which was good as it was cold outside during my stay, but, warm and so cosy within. I could also make food whenever I felt like it. I would certainly recommend to single travelers like myself.

Room Tip: Easy going atmosphere near the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starzira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

The entrance to Eaton house looks like something from the house of horrors a dark dirty hall way no indication of where to go, on arriving on the top floor our room was spacious but shabby and not very clean and very cold,when the roller blinds were rolled down to reveal many squashed flies. The shower room is still unfinished and there seemed a total lack of care and attention to detail that should be in place to make one's stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.0 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.4 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton House B&B

Address: 17 Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is divided into four flats of which the B&B, on the top floor, is one. The atmosphere is informal and friendly. There is a large sun deck and sitting room with wonderful views, books, games and TV/DVD. Internet connection can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eaton House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton House B&B Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing